You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How a frugal mindset, not a high income, is the biggest advantage in the quest to retire early.

I don't think they are laughing at you - it's the same as when we laugh about $40 / a month payments compared to our typical $250 + per month - it's more of a laughter based on relief that it is so low - I wouldn't take it personally at all - it's unlikely they were judging you - especially on something you don't even have that much control of.

Sort:  

There was a certain air about them that made me think they were judging me.. but even if i was wrong about this, it still got me thinking about how absurd it is to have a $1,200 heating bill in California.

It is absurd - ours has been typically $250 - $700 during the summer - this month we didn't turn on the AC at all and the bill was still $150- it's a complete sham!

Woah, what the.. how large of a property do you have? Me and my wife are living in 800 square feet, which is just the right size for us..

I know there's a gazillion energy taxes in California but... wow.
Our electricity bill never goes over $150 in the peak of summer. We use a combination of swamp cooler and AC though, so i'm sure we could be paying up to $200 without.

900 Sq Ft. Thankfully we are moving to house we just remodeled and it is a lot more energy efficient. I think it has a lot to do with our outdated AC unit and the fact that this place has a lot of leaks ( for example a doggie door) and some windows that have a lot of draft. I think those all contributing to it - but like I said - we are moving soon - so it wont be a problem much longer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54