Family Budgeting! HORRORS & NIGHTMARES!

in #finances7 years ago

So last night my better and prettier half and I were talking about "Budgeting".

First step is to scrape up all the costs that we know off and all the incidentals based on the past year.

Add it all up.

So as this all gets done, sitting down of course, just in case we get all woozy and light headed after the sum is added up, with a bottle of aspirin and antidepressants close at hand with a bottle of Jim Beam to skull 'em down, we figured that reality isn't as "nice" as we had kind of hoped for.

HOWEVER......

In a way it made life harder as far as coming to terms with reality goes, yet at the same time it made life realistic as far as the numbers go.

Going to the shops now is crystal clear, there is no "What if?" or "How much?" to ask.

The numbers are all realistic.

The sum for the full year was divided up into 12 months and then weekly and we knew exactly how much HAS to be set aside weekly and monthly, and how much is "left over".

OUCH.... I feel sorry for this bugger, but I have to admit, kind of made me feel better about having petty cash to live off!

All this is actually very necessary for our plans in 2018.

Like I've mentioned earlier, I see big things happening here on Steemit and I have a very good gut feeling about Steem. No I'm not in cahoots with any of the big boys, no I'm not one of the people who make decisions on the value of Steem, but I am a person who has hopes and dreams. Maybe these hopes and dreams are affecting my gut feeling, and this feeling isn't one of those that are a result of a spicy dinner!

I will be keeping a log of everything we do, step by step, even the painful ones like facing reality as far as costs of life go, but in a way our experiences as a family may help others too, maybe we get some good advice based on life experiences too and I just know that we will get a lot of moral support along the way here on Steemit.

Having people nudge you along the way in the process of achieving your goals is a very important thing in life! Especially when things might not be going as planned and if its going to happen anywhere I know that it shall happen here on Steemit, this is one of the things that makes Steemit quite unique. A lot of positive energy everywhere one turns.

So there is another day in the process of getting all organized for this year.

Thanks for reading and STEEM ON!

@jackmiller on behalf of the Millers (@millers).

Sort:  

You got a 8.46% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @robi8888!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67