Diary of a Pulubi / Diary of a Beggar - A Book Review

in #finances6 years ago

DSCF0624.JPG

Diary of a PULUBI

22 Money Lessons On How To Avoid Going Broke

A book by Chinkee Tan, a wealth & life coach from the Philippines.

DSCF0626.JPG

This is a good book to read. It was written by the author because he keeps seeing people bothered by financial stress. He wanted to help our fellow Filipinos make better decisions in handling their money. It's something we worked hard for and we easily lose it most of the time because we lose ourselves and give into temptations. We lack the proper discipline and guidance. That's why you need to read this book, it's what you need: LESSONS TO NOT GO BROKE!

DSCF0628.JPG

It contains 22 lessons that will definitely help you prepare for a better financial journey that will surely benefit you in the long run. The following lessons revolve around these topics (I'll enumerate them for you in english):

  • Shopping
  • Grand Wedding
  • Boasting
  • Upgrades
  • Doesn't want packed lunch/food
  • Party
  • Too Helpful
  • Wastes a lot
  • Travel
  • Coffee
  • Souvenirs/Gifts
  • Expensive dates
  • Debt
  • Beauty products/services
  • Credit Card
  • Lending money
  • Gadgets
  • Celebrations
  • Not having a bank account
  • Dining out
  • Craving a lot
  • Being unemployed

The author actually stated that millions of people were able to relate their lives - in terms of spending and finances - to the 'blog' posts he made, that's why I'm sure publishing a book like this would really help a lot of people. That includes me, I'm not perfect in terms of budgeting our finances as a family. It's actually really difficult and quite a challenge to do.

The 22 topics that were discussed in this book is not for everyone. Not all 22 of those things can apply to one single person but I'm positive one person needs 1-21 of those topics. Personally, I found 10 topics I can relate to and are very helpful to someone like me.

If I had read this book maybe 1-2 years earlier - maybe 2 more topics can apply for me. It's just that this book was published 2017 so 2 years earlier doesn't really make sense since it hasn't existed yet. Haha.

DSCF0629.JPG

I can't say the chapters follow a certain pattern because almost all of it was tailored to the topics he presented but 2 things are consistent here:

  • He was able to pinpoint lots of problems in the said topic and provide good solutions that may really work.
  • The articles in each topic were written in a manner that you won't get bored - it has enough humor in it to help you stay interested in reading the book.

The book is written in Taglish (a way of mixing Filipino and English words in sentences that still makes complete sense).

2018_0126_01234200.jpg

At the end of each chapter, there's a section where you can think about the topic, reflect on the issues and solutions provided, and try to apply it onto your life. It's called the "Think. Reflect. Apply" section for obvious reasons.

It contains guide questions to help you decide and apply the solutions provided so you can avoid going broke and being a 'beggar'. It also has ample space left to write on.

The Back Cover

The back of the book looks like this, it still has the price tag on it, lol sorry. It's also clad in red, the header's yellow and the other words are in white.

DSCF0627.JPG

Here's what it says, in english:

Diary of a PULUBI
22 Money Lessons On How To Avoid Going Broke

Learn How to Spend Without Being Broke

Don't do...
Shopping Now! A Beggar Later!
Vacation Now! A Beggar Later!
Party Now! A Beggar Later!

I recently wrote a series of blogs on "a beggar later," which generated a lot of views, shares and comments. One entry even got 10 million views!

That just means that there are lot of people who can relate to what those blog entries have. That's the main reason why I have decided to write this book.

"Learn How to Spend Without Being Broke" will teach you 22 money lessons which will help you become aware of:

What are our buying habits and patterns?
Why are we obsessed to buy even if we don't need it?
How to avoid temptations?
What are the proper ways to save now and be prosperous later?

Etc, etc...

Learn and be enlightened!

DSCF0630.JPG

Having that discipline on your spending and finances is one of the important traits of being a wife and a mother. It's hard but I should muster up the perseverance to do it. I do budgeting everyday.

Groceries, bills, food, utilities - a lot to track and take care of. This book helped me understand a few of the problems I'm facing and could help me prepare in the future problems I will definitely face. So, it's a must read for all Filipinos. Better keep this in your arsenal of knowledge and use it whenever you'll face a zombie apocalypse problem about your finances.

It's a cheap book, for 3$ or 150php, you can save yourself from spending and wasting thousands - and getting yourself into saving a lot more for the future. It doesn't even cost you 1 Steem Dollars to buy this book!

Remember to earn wisely, spend wisely, and save wisely!

Sort:  

"Think. Reflect. Apply"

Is something I do when out shopping, or if I like something, I wait a week and if I remember that I liked it, that's when I buy it. Looks like a great read, thanks for sharing @haneun!

most of the time po when we go out we only bring a budgeted amount para iwas bili ng hindi naman talaga need. hahaha 🤣🤣

I must learn from you! Soon I will get married, I need to learn the techniques and master financial management.

Hi! This looks like a good book, especially for the young generation who live by the YOLO concept.

One technique I also found to be very effective for me is to always think where I would be putting the item before buying it. If it will end up gathering dust in a corner or just adding to my unworn clothes, then I won’t buy it anymore. 😊 So far, so good. ☺️

Most of us went shopping when we are stressed. And we cant help it just to get relieved.

I badly need that book now. I guess that will serve as an eye opener also for those who spends a lot even in simple things..

@haneun well read book wish I can read one too guilty on most parts giving shopping coffee gifts shopping travel ako Na hehehegood post

Where can I buy this po ba? Available po kaya ito sa Pandayan Bookstore?

It will be helpful po kami for me and my father po eh. I want to try to read it and learn

I bought it sa National Bookstore.

Aw currently we don't have any National Bookstore Branch here in our province

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87