I filed a formal complaint to the CFPB about The Federal Reserve and why you should, too

in #finance8 years ago (edited)

First post, so I'll get the intro out of the way & get to it. I'm West Side Bitcoins, a Phoenix area bitcoin seller and developer of the Bitcoin Trade Calculator Android app. Hello Steemit!

Ok, that's that.

Now, a little back story about myself and the CFPB. The CFPB (Consumer Financial Protection Bureau) was formed in 2011 in the wake of & in response to the US housing crisis. In broad terms, their purpose is essentially aimed at consumer protection from some of the fraudulent & predatory lending practices that took place in the years leading up to the crisis. As for me, along with my bitcoin business I also work a day job in the Title & Escrow industry. In this position I have been subject to many of the unnecessarily excessive new regulations & requirements of the industry in the name of "consumer protection".

In wading these new waters in my career I'm often wondering how in the world many of these new requirements are actually protecting consumers. Not necessarily all of them, but there are certainly many new procedures that are overkill and frankly just end up costing the consumers more. No one works for free and when lenders & title companies have to put in extra work & man hours into your home purchase, it'll be passed on to you in fees. As a bitcoiner, consumer, saver & tax payer this consequently led me to wonder "where the hell is my protection?" And ultimately to the CFPB's online complaint submission page.

I've submitted the following formal complaint to the CFPB and because we all deserve protection from consumer harming financial institutions you should, too.

I would like to file a complaint against The Federal Reserve and their continued fraudulent & harmful practices against me. The Federal Reserve has willfully & negligently facilitated the theft of my income & savings in the form of excessive inflation and debasement of the US dollar. As your bureau was formed to protect the consumer from harmful and fraudulent practices by financial institutions, I believe the CFPB has an obligation to investigate & hold accountable those actions of The Federal Reserve and its harm against consumers.

Now admittedly this submission, as true as I believe it to be, was not submitted with the actual expectation of a response of action from the CFPB, and indeed it will not see any. However, just as a letter to your congressmen or participation in a political protest often serves as much to satisfy a personal desire to be heard as it does to solicit action, I am content solely in the fact that I have taken this particular gripe from mind to paper (so to speak).

We all feel helpless & ineffective in a world of rigged politics, big government and big banks. I found a momentary sense of satisfaction, albeit fleeting as there is much work to be done. Here is to hoping you find yours, also.

Thank you for listening, Steemit!

Sort:  

Yo de ho ho its Morpheus howzit going brotha? will be interesting to see what the response will be to your complaint! Keep on rocking the Free world!

Hey buddy! How's business? feels a little slow to me lately. Anyway, I've been hounded for 4 weeks to do my first post by friends, and as soon as I finished I was promptly informed of everything I did wrong. Awesome. =|

No comment !!!!!

Finally...good to see you here!!!

Congratulations @westsidebitcoins! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43