You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: House of Cards: a view from the ivory tower

in #finance8 years ago

This is a fantastic and very well detailed article of what it is like wearing multiple hats in a IT system where balancing all of the different systems is like twirling plates on sticks.

It is exactly how I feel every day. Most tech calls can be solved with a "When was the last time you shut down you computer then turned it back on - reboot?"

There are days where you think you will get to work on a development project you want to work on but get stuck overwhelmed in B.S. because the techs are too busy.

Legacy software is kicking my butt right now. I need to get it moved to 64 bit and feel like a gopher trying to tunnel my way through some kinda way.

Thank you for writing - I will be sharing.

Sort:  

Thanks, the resteem is much appreciated! I think a lot of people in the tech industry can relate to these experiences. Good luck with your legacy software migration - I hope it works out OK!

There are days where you think you will get to work on a development project you want to work on but get stuck overwhelmed in B.S. because the techs are too busy.

Oh, this is the worst. I can't tell you how many times I'd been looking forward to a productive dev day only to have it ruined by some massive support problem that requires "all hands on deck" to get resolved. When I give project stakeholders an estimate of how long it will take to develop something, I always add at least 50% to the estimate to make up for time lost due to support issues.

My life - I have a project I am working on that is awesome - software for a small yet vital division. But my life the past 2 months has been re-writes of sql pulls because of managers who know nothing about their programs and their original requests were screwed. Then of course, we are doing big migrations and techs, my backup are all busy.

My project is 40 days overdue and looks like January right now. I hate that.

Yikes, sounds like a tough situation to be in, especially with the end of the year coming up. I find there is often some friction between business users / managers that don't understand the tech side, and programmers who don't necessarily understand the business side. Hard to meet in the middle and hash things out to come up with a reasonable understanding on requirements. Good luck getting caught up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44