2018 : TIME TO GET OUR FINANCES IN ORDER! THIS WILL BE THE YEAR!

in #finance7 years ago

        A new year is upon us.  A new beginning. A time to finally get serious and get our finances in order. This is something we have wanted to do for a long time. We've been putting it off for so long.  Procrastination  has been are mode of operation. 2018 will finally be the year we finally get it all  together and set our finances in the right course. Let us begin! I've taken these steps myself. 

        Design a plan, a road map if you will.  A map of your life and what you want to accomplish as well as the money you will need.  It may be best to consult a financial advisor and get a whole  financial snapshot of your finances. With this, they'll hold you accountable  for sticking to your plan.  It's always good to have someone guide you and periodically check up on you to make sure you are on track and following  your  plans as formulated. 

         Next,  create and stick to a budget.   Of course , everyone's will be different as it meets your unique situation. I allocate  50% of my money to essential expenditures (ie  groceries, housing, car payments, insurances), 20% to savings,  (ie  college fund,  retirement accounts) , and 30% to lifestyle (ie vacations, dining out ).  Key here is to not falter but to remain on course.  Commit to your budget. 

         Next,  start a retirement account. Doing  this early is so important as time and compound interest can work for you and  allow you to hit your  retirement goals.  Maximize your contributions.  After all, we won't stay young forever. Father time will be upon us before you know it. 

          Next, develop an emergency fund. Try to save 3-6 months of pay. This will help you sleep at night.  You;ve got to play defense in life.  Anything can happen. It's Murphy's Lay.  You may lose your job, get terribly sick,  or have any  assortment of catastrophes.  Real emergencies happen all the time and it can come at the worse of times.  Emergency funds will help you deal with life's inevitable challenges. 

          Finally,  start paying off your debts. Eliminate those credit cards with those high interest rates.  Try to only have 1 credit card for emergencies. Manage your monies well and it will naturally grow. 

          These are the steps I will follow in 2018. I plan to get my financial picture in place and make this 2018 resolution come true.  Join me in this journey. 

           Disclaimer:  Not a financial adviser or am I giving any financial advise. Consult with a financial consultant and do your own due diligence.  These are just my own insights and practical knowledge. 

        

Sort:  

Nice information. I'm somewhat financially stable at 22 and I am able to take several vacations out of the year and have a couple nice toys. I guess what I'm trying to accomplish is the same thing but find a way to do it without a job. I'm not talking about $100.00 a week but $2000.00 a week and more. It's not easy.. It takes a lot of motivation. But it will happen. Nice post. Check me out @krillz218

Cool. Will check you out. Great to start out young and have a handle on one's finances. Keep on hustling and grinding. Will check you out.

Cool. Will do thank you.

I'm still waiting for my year to get my stuff together. For now I'll stick with spending more money than I earn...

nice one for this one i say a very big amen to this.. bless you thanks....

I started to cry when I thought that spring came so quickly. Another season I'm going through again. @steppingout23

Good advice for sure. Best to you and your 2018 financial goals!

good advice, maybe it's very useful to me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50