They Don't Understand What Steem Is!

in #finance6 years ago

A friend of mine, met through a meet up here in Adelaide, had set his account to power down over a month ago.

He complained that he wasn't getting any curation. (Is it any wonder why?).

So I suggested that he power up again, and immediately he was rewarded for doing so.

But a lot of people don't understand Steem. They think that if they do a few blog posts that their lives will change.
(For some early adopters, this was the case, but where are they now?).

I'm not arrogant enough to think that I know it all, I certainly don't. However, I do know that you have to put the work in in order to get a return.

You also have to build an audience of people who, hopefully understand what is going on in the block-chain or it's potential.

Steem Power is your stake in Steem, similar to having shares in Google when they were first starting out.

The more Steem Power you have, the more you can do here on the block-chain.
Your upvotes will be worth more, and so will your curation rewards. In return for rewarding others handsomely, you will hopefully build an audience who's upvote will increase your author rewards.

This can all be powered up again, or it can be spent elsewhere on the block-chain.

But the range of methods of generating Steem is incredible. I am getting affiliate payments from @steemmonsters!
Steemhunt tokens (whatever they will be worth when the SMTs come online), Partiko (getting paid points for upvoting, then using points to trigger an upvote bot).

Not to mention the myriad of apps that I haven't even heard of, let alone the future development of new technologies.

Don't give up on Steem.
I have made more on Steem though DTube in a month than I did in a year on YouTube. Let's hope they make the uploading a bit more universally better.

Also, for your friends to help understand Steem, there are various 'onboarding' projects that make things easier.

Conveying understanding is essential in recruiting and keeping people involved in Steem.

Oh and despite the payouts being so low, you're still getting paid to post content. That right there is incentive enough to stick around, right?

Something to think about.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

YouTube just keeps raising the bar. By the time I was good and ready to monetize they changed the requirements. Well, I can meet those requirements in 1 payment, but why would I? I can also spend the money here on Steem with a chance to get it back.

Agreed. I was on YouTube for 10 years. I know people who are successful on YouTube, but they still have to grind out the videos. Their stuff can be demonetised at any time. Here that demonetisation is after a week, but there is no censorship.

After a decade on YouTube they pulled the plug on everyday people.

I wish DTube worked more reliably and allowed livestreaming properly. I would be doing a whole lot more on the platform.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes. DTube has limited resources, but the longer it survives the better it will get. I remember when DTube didn't have HD resolution yet. I think DTube is best suited for short duration videos, the kind @nathanmars is supporting right now. I don't make that kind of video and I don't control the length of the songs I record so for now I cross post from YouTube and support as many of Nathan's resteems as I can with some up votes. At this point I don't feel pressured to produce any daily content and I couldn't if I wanted to. It takes about a day to record a show and another to render a video from that. (if there was a show to record to begin with)

Yeah it's not easy. Normally I do the shorter videos straight from a webcam and the edit out the tail ends. It's been a while since my last one but I should record at least two today and split the uploads up over two days.

Posted using Partiko Android

pocketsend:5000@

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50