Living with Emergency FundssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #finance7 years ago

unemployed for several months

Emergency fund is the money set aside to cover up unforseen events like unemployment, sickness, house renovation, etc. I set aside 3% of my income to build this fund.
image.jpeg

I've been unemployed for several months now, and hardly go back to work considering I have 3 kids to take care. I was aiming to go overseas to find better future for my family but my visa has been denied and I have no choice but to wait for the process of re application. This is the longest span of time that I am not employed, good thing that I was able to set aside small percentage of my income when I was still working. Portion of this I am thinking to invest in ethrade to have atleast some pesos that are coming for our expenses.

I am thankful that I was able to save for emergency fund, I didn't expect that I will be using it too soon.I was expecting to have this tap up to my investment before. Since I was thinking it is ridiculous to have emergency fund but yes my mentor was right.

Sort:  

Agree @mitchelle the concept is very important. I started when my wife got sick a few years back and we did not have money for hospitalization. Till now that we are doing a bit better, we have 6 months worth of our lifestyle set aside for emergencies.

Yes it really help us cope with expenses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70