Accountability... Japan leading the way, thank you

in #finance6 years ago (edited)

This morning I woke up to an article that shocked me. How did you feel reading the news?

Japanese cryptocurrency exchange Coincheck Inc. said it will use ITS OWN CAPITAL to reimburse customers who lost money in Friday’s $400 million theft.

japan.jpg

You read that right, their own capital. When is the last time you heard the individuals managing a US or Euro financial institution take true responsibility? By that I mean one that hurts.

It's not easy to start a new trend, but I have to give it up to the Coincheck guys for leading the way. It's always about people and the way we all, as individuals, handle adversity.

Source -
https://www.msn.com/en-us/money/markets/coincheck-to-repay-users-who-lost-money-in-dollar400-million-hack/ar-BBIjrlV?ocid=spartandhp

Photo credit -

Sort:  

@liotap. Two immediate things come to mind... first, you'll never see wall street or any government do such which sets a whole new standard; and second, for Coincheck to adsorb such a loss speaks to the support in Japan for crypto.

That indeed is "refreshing" to hear!

The way Coincheck decided to handle the situation by repaying the customer in fully really makes me happy.

hopefully behind all this there is a wisdom

If I ever pick up japanese so I can read what's actually listed on there, I know what exchange I'm heading for! Kudos!

They are pushing themselves in market, it could be their strategy to enter in market with huge market cap. What do you think @liotap?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67