My 2017 New Year's Resolution

in #finance6 years ago (edited)

New Year's Goals - 2018 - Jarrad Brown - Financial Planner for Aussie Expats in SIngapore.png
This is the toughest thing I did in 2017 and I recommend you do it too.

This time last year I set a New Years’ Resolution to budget and document my spending.

For the entire year I committed to write down EVERY SINGLE purchase. Nothing missed or overlooked.

Whether large or small, I committed to documenting it in Excel.

As a Financial Planner, I’m aware of the positive impact increasing savings can have – so I was 100% committed.

It was week 2 before I was close to regretting the idea, but I pushed through.

This daily exercise felt like a chore, day-in-day-out noting every expense down, until a couple months in – it became a natural part of my daily routine.

3 - 5 minutes each day recording expenses. Surprisingly, it became quite a competition to see how much I would reduce my expenses each month.

Nothing like some competition to make it more effective.

Whilst tedious at times, the results were hugely positive. Unnecessary expenses were easily wiped out.

New Years’ Resolutions are often set and forgotten, but I’m glad I saw it through.

If people tell me that budgeting is difficult, I’d tell them they’re right, but that if they’re prepared to put in the effort, the rewards make it all worthwhile

How will you improve your finances in 2018..?

Sort:  

Accomplishing resolutions is very satisfying!

Hi !!
Nice to meet you! We are currently trying to create a Steemit community for fellow Singaporeans.
Inspired by what other countries had done (teamaustralia, teammalaysia, etc), a community will help Singapore Steemians to grow together. We can share ideas, collaborate efforts and learn from each other.
If you are interested, feel free to join this newly created Facebook group and unite together! https://www.facebook.com/groups/steemsingapore/
Hope to see you participate in this community! #teamsingapore

Congratulations @jarradbrown! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jarradbrown! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69430.02
ETH 3814.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66