I saved my credit report from being ruined for an honest mistake...

in #finance7 years ago (edited)

I recently moved. I forwarded all my mail to the new address, but it was taking some additional time to reach my new address. I missed a payment on a credit card. Seems it was a card that I was already several days late on as it were. I meant to pay it but totally forgot about it. The bill became 30 dsys late and then 33 days late. I had been working hard on getting my score back up. I had finally gotten my Equifax score up from a 535 to a 653. (Not great but not a 535.) My TransUnion went up to a 590. (Got some work to do there).

Well when I realized my error, I was livid. With myself, of course.

I recently moved. I forwarded all my mail to the new address, but it was taking some additional time to reach my new address. I missed a payment on a credit card. Seems it was a card that I was already several days late on as it were. I meant to pay it but totally forgot about it. The bill became 30 dsys late and then 33 days late. I had been working hard on getting my score back up. I had finally gotten my Equifax score up from a 535 to a 653. (Not great but not a 535.) My TransUnion went up to a 590. (Got some work to do there).

Well when I realized my error, I was livid. With myself, of course.

I cussed at myself several times and after I settled down I went to work solving the problem that I created. I thought once something was reported that was it. All that work only to screw it up with an honest mistake. I mean , I had the money. A buddy of mine recommended that I call the bank and get them to change it. I didnt think it was possible, but he was like "What do you have to lose?" So I called the bank until I went up the chain far enough to get to the manager who does the reporting to the bureaus. She informed me that the late payment had been reported 3 days earlier. I explained that I had been working hard to get my credit score back up and asked if she could help me fix it. She retracted the negative marks on my credit report. Of course, I made the payments to get caught up. Now I'm broke but at least my credit rating is intact.

Didnt know that that was possible. Certainly made my day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58