What hard assets would you choose to buy?

in #finance7 years ago

What is the best tangible (hard) asset to own?


Gold, Silver, Platinum, Bronze, Diamonds, or what?

For people who choose to buy these tangible assets, how do you intend to store it? Will you buy it with a self directed IRA or something else? How will you transport it if you need to move?

Sort:  

Personally, I wouldn't buy any, because:

  • they pay no interest
  • generally not a hedge against inflation
  • storage costs
  • opportunity cost (could be invested in something that appreciates)

Given the listed options, gold, because:

  • lowest premium (buy/sell spread)
  • easy to buy/sell
  • capital gains tax free in many countries
  • portability (high value density per size/weight)

Gold also has high sentimental value, particularly between older generations. They simply HODL it, to pass it on to their heirs*. Other metals are more tied to industrial supply/demand needs, and I think in this case its better to have exposure trough equities in manufacturing.

*What do new generations think of gold? Will they sell it after inheriting it? Will this push the price lower?

You pretty much covered it all. Could add one bullet that diamonds should see a steady decline in years to come as the newer generations are more educated on the true value/invalue of diamonds.

Gold and silver (fine investment grade) bars. I would hold it outside of a retirement fund (the government could in theory seize that account if they got into financial trouble). I would store it in a local third party private vault service if you can't have a legitimate home safe. Or if you really can't find a local facility to store your metals then look into goldmoney. Thy store it in a non-local location;however, you can spend your gold via a mastercard they give to you. And if you wish to take delivery later on they can ship the metals to you.

And have a gun and a decent amount of ammo. Hard assets don't mean anything if people can steal them from you.

I especially agree with holding precious metals in your home, and guns/ammo.
It is easy to have a small safe for some coins/bars no matter where you live, and a pistol or two. You don't have to have massive amounts of either, but holding a percent of your wealth physically in a solid asset in your house and being able to defend your family and possessions gives one a sense of calm and control.

Food and water/filters as well, survival skills and tools are also important. You don't have to go crazy on the prepping, but it doesn't hurt to know how to keep yourself alive in case of an emergency.

I agree. However, a good safe can be price prohibitive. And depending where people live if you live in a bad area a quality safe is definitely needed. But physical metals in or close to your personal residence is a win in my book. and agreed, food and water is a must as well. You will be surprised how many people have 0 emergency rations. SMH.

I would opt for property.

We all need a place to live... :c)

No specific answer. Of course the more sought after will have a more tangible value.

you are right

How would you choose to stack your wealth?

I figure I want to buy platinum.
Rather than storing it, I am thinking of experimenting on it. Best if bought with self directed IRA. Rather than moving with it, I will request someone to bring it where I am moving, with exceptional Government approval of course.

What about you ?

None, anything can be owned!

But the question is.... Why bother...?

Think of the greatest story of the ones who had everything, but they were eager for love, or health, and couldn't enjoy a thing they "öwned"!

Think about a natural calamity, what do you "own" the day after nature did it's course?

It's that a real "own", or just an illusion....

That's just my opinion, everything is right at the same time...

But there were times when I had nothing and I was happy, and times I got everithing I taught I need and I was screaming for something else I couldn't touch...

You need to own some things to keep yourself alive... make sure you are prepared for emergencies. By all means, treasure your relationships, health, skills& education, just be mindful so you don't accidentally become a burden on your family and friends by not having enough wealth to provide for yourself.

Got your point:)

thanks to share i follow resteem & vote

A % of physical silver for day-day expenses(barter), otherwise, held by an LLC outside my tax residency, in vaults in Asia & Europe. I hold Gold & Silver.

Well of course, it's always a good bet to diversify your assets. However, there's a lot of strategic advantages in playing with ratios. For me personally, I like to consider these things in order to optimize myself for max gains in my hard assets and anything else I invest and trade in.
For instance, the current ratio of silver to gold is almost 75:1, so where do I go from here? Well, an ounce of gold is just around $1300, so I can buy a gold ounce or 75 ounces of silver. Of course, to each your own with what you choose to buy and how you buy it, though in the context of optimizing wealth and overall gain, I'd like to play with ratios like these and for instance grab a bunch of ounces of silver for the same amount as an ounce of gold. So let's take a look at how this works:

Silver(Ounce): $17.75 ----- Gold(Ounce): $1300

So let's say you buy $1300 worth of silver instead of gold which is the equivalent of [73.2] ounces. Now here's where the magic works:

Gold raises $100, and you gain a nice little profit, assuming you are going to exit at that position, and let's say silver goes just to $20 from $17.5, and you actually gain a higher profit (1300 to 1464 USD). Playing with the ratios and those numbers as such is personally a powerful tool for me, though of course my best bet is diversifying and holding all the assets if I were going to do so.
I mean, I'm not some expert adviser, though I believe it's something valuable to note. Thanks for the post @dana-edwards

~FD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56615.57
ETH 2387.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30