The best way to save money if you struggle saving is to spend it!

in #finance5 years ago

This might sound crazy, but if your like me and can't help but buy yourself the latest gadget or some new clothes when you have some money left over at the end of the month then this might just work for you.

The basis of my approach is to spend the money on something that can be viewed as an investment. This could be stock and shares, gold, bitcoin, art etc.

To me I found it quite surprising that I still got that endorphin kick of buying something when it was an investment I wanted. I felt the same high as if I had bought myself a new phone that I wanted but crucialy I never got that regret when I realised that the purchase hadn't given me any fulfilment.

As a result of this I have over £8000 in investments built in a little over 2 years. As a collective they haven't really gone up or down, i have had moments when my Bitcoin dropped in value, but then my shares in Tesla were on the rise keeping my portfolio fairly balanced. This is why it's crucial to not put all your eggs in one basket, and as I look forward I feel positive that these investments have the opportunity to grow, as I am still buying other investments when I have that urge to buy something.

For example the other day I was reading about a new "smart watch", I had seen the influencers on YouTube telling me how good it was. Ultimately It was over £500 and I didn't need it, I talked myself out of buying it because I would rather buy some shares with the money

Depending on the investment you choose it also keeps your money fairly liquid so you can get to it within a handful of days of required. Although as the value can go up and down over time, I still recommended keeping a month's worth of your financial commitments in a bank account ready to go if needed.

With apps such as freetrade and Robin Hood saving you the fees of buying and selling stocks and shares this has never been easier when considering buy small values each month.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptorich1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

First of all, Happy Steemitversary!

Oddly I want to criticize your thinking as backwards, BUT...

It is actually quite genius and insightful! You know you have a spending problem and came up with a positive way to harness the addiction. Good on you! Better to shift money into something that may appreciate in value than to blow it on knicknacks and whatnot.

Congratulations @cryptorich1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49