Consume Your Doom steemCreated with Sketch.

in #finance5 years ago

Hey Jessies of the working world

I don't know what it's like for others, but for me, I cannot turn on a damn TV, open a newspaper, visit a website or watch a damn video without someone trying to sell me some something. It really takes a strong person with a factor of negative fucks to give to be completely unaffected by the amount of selling going on in the world today.

You may think the money you earn isn't enough but guess what, those people advertising are desperate to have you part with your money and are happy with getting 2-3% of people they reach to buy something from them, in many cases even less because the markups are so high.

Load of shit

Consumer groomer

Each year new people come into the world and they are indoctrinated from birth until they start to earn their own income to become consumers. It's just another generation of buyers and sellers, nothing more. Commerce used to be a brilliant invention, the ease at acquiring something you needed without having to make it or trade something for it is amazing.

It along with the profit motive allowed so many innovations to flourish as peoples needs were being met and new needs were created.

Pimps and whores

The need machine

As our needs were being met you would see a slow down in commerce as it reaches its natural equilibrium but for businesses and shareholders, that's not something they want. It's not about sustainability it's about growth. So what do they do? They come up with a new idea, a special idea, another situation that appeals to you so you can keep buying.

Got one hair on your ass? Get the ass hair tweezer, it's designed specifically for ass hair, don't try using anything else, it won't work as well sort of messaging.

Consumer protection

We see people eat this garbage up and many times fight to defend their purchases. If I told you, hey this coffee table from IKEA sucks Swedish meatballs, you who invested the money would say it's supposed to wobble it's Swedish you don't understand. These brands know what they're doing in a bid to justify your decision to purchase.

We fight to protect brands and the things we buy from them, it's Stockholm syndrome if ever there was one!

Financial independence

I found this quote on what financial independence is and I think many people would accept it as law but to me, that is not the definition of the term. To me, it means you are free from consumption, consume what you need, be selective, independence means to be in control.

This definition leans more to opulence and having no control which I feel doesn't sit well with the term.

I think if you want to start claiming real financial independence you need to start to realise how you are being sold to, believe me, you are, someone else is, you are also selling to yourself and realise when you're falling into that trap.

Learn to say no, learn to save, learn to buy something that pays you back over time.

How independant are you if you're telling yourself a BMW is what makes you feel better or the new iPhone (which is dog shit btw check out my previous post on that). I'm not saying live life Amish, i'm saying stop beeing a cry baby bitch about every gadget and gizmo that comes along.

FI-Definition.png

Image source - theretirementmanifesto.com

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy & sell STEEMDonate LikeCoin For FreeEarn Interest On Crypto
blocktrades.jpgLikecoincryptocom.jpg
Sort:  

In the last couple of years I basically only buy what I need as I have also been getting rid of excess stuff. I feel so much better for it to.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm on the same buzz, I do feel a lot freeier not feeling that pressure to keep up and compete or wanting to have more stuff. I think our consumption rates have gone a bit out of wack and you should start there, then see if you actually need more to live

Exactly 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

!Beer 1
Just have to try today too. AND this beer is not buying or consuming. Just a way to say "I have read your post but have nothing to say this time"

Lol I was wondering when you would have something to say, I thought you'd get into me for the IKEA reference. I see you're just full of empty beer promises

!BEER 1

I make one more try WITH BIG
!BEER 1 COME ON !!!!

YES I DID IT : I HAVE TO WRITE WITH BIG LETTERS IF I WANT TO GIVE SOME ONE A BEER. LIKE SCREAMING OUT THAT I GIVE A BEER ! nice to know.

Well we are not children, we don't drink small beers, we are men, we drink big beers

I dont drink Beer so I am...

Posted using Partiko Android

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @chekohler, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @minimining, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.191 which ranks you at #3200 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 124 contributions, your post is ranked at #90.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73