Sort:  

you have quite a unique taste, just shared your post with a friend via facebook :P
Keep sharing more of it :)

Stay passionate, stay blessed !

Cheers, buddy!

That's what happens when you are a film geek for 25 years, study film for 7 years and make films yourself. It all adds up to 'a unique taste in movies' ;>)

Glad that you're sharing it with someone. Tell your friend to leave Fb and join us on Steemit asap.

Patience is my middle name...

yea, I'm trying to convince him and he will join asap :)

I dug Snowpiercer, so I will definitely be on the look out for the Host. @art.gaming.magic you should check out this list :) Think you would like.

Whenever you get the chance to watch The Host, let me know how you like it :)

As far as Anime movies, that one is cool, but so is Howl's Moving Castle and Grave of the Fireflies.... shivers

I agree. I especially like - for lack of a better word- the latter., G o t F. It's intense and heartbreaking. I can give you a list with 50 titles, but - if you're patient - they will trickle in one by one over the next couple of months.

Answered on a comment above... lol

This turns out to be an interesting movie recommendation!
It is such a shame that I don't know all of those movie you mentioned above :C

I guess that's actually a good thing ;>)

Man from earth and paprika! <3

Have you seen Paranoia Agent, it’s a series but I think I like it more than paprika. Satoshi kon is what justifies anime for me.

Heard of it. Thought I hadn't seen the series but - while watching a trailer - I feel I might have seen one or two episodes. It looks great though - like a blend of Akira and Kemonozume - so I wonder why I haven't seen/ don't remember more of it. Thanks for the reminder!

One of my favorites along with tekkon kinkreet

Tekkonkinkreet rocks!

Loved that when I first saw it. It felt very unique! FYI: my brother just told me that there is a new project out from the people behind tekkonkinkreet, but I don't know the details about it...

I just love the movie "Man from Earth" ... it was an incredible movie shooted just inside one room, nothing else ...with probably 6-7 characters .... and it plays with your minds, questions your religions and practices ... take you thru another perspective .. an absolutely one of a kind movie!

I am gonna other 4 movies as they seems great. Nice post @vincentnijman

Cool to hear that you've seen that one. It's certainly not for everyone.
Whenever you find the opportunity to see these other films, I'm curious to hear your opinion :>)

Nice now I got some movies lined up for the weekend :)

I've seen Paprika, Man from Earth and The Host. Gonna check out the others.

Thanks for the post.

3 out of 5. That's a decent score. Thanks for checking in!

Great, I finally found another awesome film-guy at steemit.
What is your letterboxd name? You can find me there as "JackRaptor" (link is also in my profile).
Left a follow and an up vote!
"Beyond the Black Rainbow" is completely new for me, the rest of the movies is on my list or I saw them already.

Glad you found me, Jack!

I have been posting on films for a couple of months now, but I see you're quite new here. Here's me on letterbox: https://letterboxd.com/Vinfilm/

Haven't added 'watched films' for a while though and I think I'm missing out on a couple of thousand seen, haha. Nice to meet you too und auf wiedersehen!
Vincent

P.S. are you on discord yet?

Wondering, did you view "The Host" with English subtitles?
I ask as that's what I found when i went & chk'd it at Amazon.

Am Planning to take a Look at The Man from Earth, anyway.

Thanks for the #tip.

#FILM

Good question, I think I watched the original Korean version with English subs, as it played at a Dutch film festival. But it's 11 years ago, so I'm not sure. Hope to hear back from you when you've seen these films.

Bye for now!

Ok, thanks for replying so quickly.

Have a good one !

I can't wait to watch ALL of these! Awesome recs!

Now I'm not sure if this fits in the science fiction category... it's more spiritual than science, but Enter The Void" is one of my indie favorites. Have you seen it @vincentnijman?

Hope you find them interesting in one way or another. I would not call Enter the Void sci-fi but it's an extremely interesting movie for sure. Quite a trip.

I remember watching it in my parents living room. It was uncomfortable and I almost felt like I was watching something I shouldn't watch with my parents around, haha! Have you seen other work by Gaspar Noé, like Irréversible?

Lol I can imagine how that would be uncomfortable with the parents. Especially considering the fact that it's less about the dialogue and more about the sound and visuals (I'm remembering the brothel scenes haha).

I had to muster up a bit of courage to watch Irréversible, but once I did, I remember feeling this immense appreciation and respect, not only for victims of rape, but also for Gaspar and the experience he was able to curate through film. I've never quite felt what I felt via a movie medium like I did in that movie... truly inspiring.

What did you think of it?

And also, now that you have a better idea of my movie taste - do any movies come to mind that you think I would enjoy? I'd love to watch some more deeply moving, thought provoking stuff.

They couldn't see my screen but still... it was uncomfortable enough. I guess I went into Irréversible open minded, without expectations. It was quite an experience. It's one of a couple of dozen of extremely intense movies, that I find very good but do not necessarily like to (re)watch.

It's not easy to answer your question about movie recommendations - I got no clue how many you've seen, but if you keep replying to my film posts (and perhaps even add a reply or two to my older posts), I'm sure I can come up with some suggestions one of these days...

Bye for now!

Fair enough! I will do that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49