You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Solo (film): It was about what i expected

in #films6 years ago

I actually thought Solo was pretty good. And honestly, don't shoot me but I think Disney has done a better job at story telling than the work done in the Anakin movies. Of course none have held up to the original Star Wars series.

I get what you mean about the feminist agenda. I am all for equal rights, but not at the cost of swinging the pendulum to another extremist position. I have been commenting to my wife about how in every single show that we watch, especially in DC Comics shows, a female character cannot be seen being overpowered by a male character. They do this to the point of distraction. Notice this on any hero movie or TV show made recently. If a female and a male character are fighting, you can skip it because the girl is going to win every time.

A particularly stupid example was on an episode of Supergirl where she ended up fighting Superman and kicked his ass big time. The apologists say that they are both super, so it could happen. But think about it. He is a huge strong man and she is a dainty little girl. They are both from the same planet and have the same powers. I don't think it would be sexist to say that he could kill her with one punch. It's just common sense!

Sort:  

it isn't difficult to defeat the Anakin stories, gawl those were crap. I guess I, like many fanbois, were hoping for a return to the traditional style from 4,5, and 6 and it looked like we were getting our way in episode 7 and then they even went darker in Rogue 1 (which is my fav out of the new films) only to have all of our dreams shattered in TLJ - which as I am sure you noticed, the dedicated fanbase largely rejected :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56790.06
ETH 2345.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42