/ Exploring 'Blade Runner 2049' / Behind the scenes

in #films7 years ago (edited)



The much anticipated sequel of Ridley Scott's Blade Runner (1982), Blade Runner 2049
directed by Denis Villeneuve is almost here! The release date is set to October 5th.

Here's the recently-released synopsis for the film
: Thirty years after the events of the first film, a new blade runner, LAPD Officer K (Ryan Gosling), unearths a long-buried secret that has the potential to plunge what’s left of society into chaos. K’s discovery leads him on a quest to find Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford), a former LAPD blade runner who has been missing for 30 years.

For Blade Runner 2049, Villeneuve insisted on practical sets and props to put his actors squarely in the dystopian world of Los Angeles thirty years after Ridley Scott's film.
In the video below by VICE , you can see physical sets and props of Blade Runner 2049.
The video also reveals several clips of pre-vis videos to demonstrate how the physical sets were designed to match the future VFX needs.


VICE Talks gone even further exploring and talked to the current cast and crew as well as Ridley Scott himself about the lasting impact of the original Blade Runner, its influence on films, fashion, video games and music in the years since its release.

This is some of concept art from the film by  Ryan Parker and Lawrence Yee




Blade Runner 2049 was shot at 2.35:1 on Arri Alexa 65 and Arri Alexa XT Studio with Hasselblad Prime 65’s and Zeiss Master Prime glass, and director of photography is almighty Roger Deakins.



Here is the first and second trailer if you somehow lived underground and haven't seen it

Sort:  

nice movie , upvoted and followed

keep it up

Really excited for this film, but I'm also terrified they will ruin it. I remember watching the original when I was just a kid, and it is literally the first movie that started a lifelong obsession with science fiction for me.

@dexter-k, I know, me too!
But I kind of have my hopes up because Denis Villeneuve directed the film, and he is an art house film director, so you now at least the film is not going to be Hollywood kaboom twist kaboom plot style and then theres Roger Deakins, the DP, so you know that the film will look jaw-drop amazing.
I don't know, we shall see. In this millennium where there are no fresh ideas, and millions sequels, I try not to feel bad when they fuck up yet another classic :D

I can't wait to get myself into the theater to see this!!! I have been waiting for this a looooong time!!!! Then I can walk out and say = "If only you could see what I have seen with your eyes!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65236.24
ETH 3401.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19