Warm Bodies (film): Stupid, but kind of fun at the same time

in #films6 years ago

This is a strange mix for a film. It is kind of a teenage love-story combined with a zombie film. I don't really know how to describe it, but i thought it was fun.

MV5BMTQ4MjY2MjMzOV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDUxNzIwOQ@@._V1._CR43,43.16667175292969,1298,1960.9999542236328_.jpg

I suppose it could be considered a romantic comedy with the occasional brain-eating sequence. It is a completely new genre i guess! Basically the zombie apocalypse has already occurred and "R" is the main zombie we follow. It is narrated by coherent "R" but he is unable to show such intellect in his day-to-day actions on account of being a zombie.

1075659.jpg

He wanders around with his best zombie pals collecting things and what not but mostly, like most zombies, they are forever looking for human flesh, particularly brains - which "R" explains they all like best because they can see the memories of their victims when they consume their brains.

One day he and his pals our out hunting for delicious craniums when he stumbles upon "Julie" and his heart beats.... one time..... for the first time in 8 years. It is extremely cheesy but then he smears zombie blood on her and helps her escape because she makes him feel "alive" and the more time he spends with her his heart occasionally beats again.

wb.jpg

That is basically how the movie progresses. I like this film because I am sick of zombie stuff and when someone can come along and make something fresh - even if it is cheesy teenage love-story-comedy fresh, I'm for it.

Just watching that trailer makes me feel silly endorsing this film but you are gonna have to trust me on this one... it is actually quite worthy of a look. I enjoyed this movie much more than I thought i was going to and I believe you will also. It made a bunch of money and most of the critics, many of which went into this expecting to hate it, also responded favorably.

7 / 10

Sort:  

It was a pretty good spin on a very, very, very, tired premise. I used to love zombie movies.. For real. I was so excited when Dawn of the Dead was remade. But then when people realized it was bankable... it was just nothing but zombies everywhere. It was already getting stale within a year, and then they decided to continue for another decade. Thankfully that's starting to change again.

Basically, other than Sick Girl (which was an amazing piece on human objectification) this movie is the best thing to come out of the whole mess.

Good job.

Jonathan Levine made an ideal object - a film that, depending on mood, can be seen as a reference youth melodrama about love (ironic but touching) and as a mocking, caustic parody of current melodramas.
The only thing that bothered me was that Nicholas Hoult, as a zombie, was paving the way to her lover’s heart, not only through the stomach, but also mainly through the brain of her previous boyfriend, who he ate, not knowing that he was his rival, and apologizing in advance to the audience. They say that I myself am not happy, I understand that it is disgusting, but I have to, I can’t do anything about it, because the brain is the most delicious, and the most useful is not just a bundle of nutrients, but also a database, a photo album, an archive of emotions, impressions and memories. :)
It is the memories, according to the author of the film, that the bipedal erect-walking creature is alive and makes even a stopped heartbeat. "Warm Bodies" definitely deserves attention.

Can never get sick of a good old Zombie movie but this certainly brought a needed fresh concept into the movie genre

yes sir @gooddream, I really do not like zombies but over the encouragement of a friend I decided to watch this movie. I was scared but I still felt funny and romantic.

I have to give it a chance as you said, I've heard of this movie but never stumble upon it on tv at the right moment

Interesting.. here an upvote!

Post voted by @templo Cine

@goddream We would appreciate a greeting in our next healing report that will contain a link to your post

123-10.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62460.04
ETH 2435.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65