Uncle Drew (film): I guess it's ok

in #films6 years ago

I ended up watching this movie because I'll watch pretty much anything. I don't know what is more surprising: the fact that they decided to turn a 2 minute youtube video into a full-length film or that the movie made 30 million dollars. I guess I'm not the only person who will watch pretty much anything.

MV5BMTU2MzE0NzQ1Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzIyNzczNTM@._V1_.jpg

So if you are not familiar with the Uncle Drew commercials they were an advert for Nike or Reebok or something along those lines and it was basically putting a crap ton of makeup on NBA stars and having them turn up and dominate at pick up games on the street while in disguise. It was really entertaining.

The movie stars Kyle Irving, Shaq, Reggie Miller, Chris Webber, Nate Robinson, and Lisa Leslie, who in case you don't know are (or were) professional basketball players. The movie is reasonably entertaining although it is definitely predictable. The main character is "Dax" (played by Lil Rel Howery) who is a basketball coach of sorts whose team that he is sponsoring gets taken away by his rival Mookie (Nick Kroll) who also steals his materialistic girlfriend. In my opinion Kroll's character is the funniest in the entire movie and I am not entirely sure why that is.

bioimage_nick.jpg

Dax needs to find a new team and ends up creating a team compiled entirely of people in their 70's and well, I am not spoiling anything at all by saying that yeah, they win in the end.

Shaquille O'Neil has a terrifying makeover for his role in this movie and they even poke fun at the fact that during his time in the NBA that he couldn't make any shots that were further away from the basket than right under it.

u.png

Overall I would say this movie is ok but not great. It certainly isn't anything terribly special and is a bit of a cliche in that it uses that usual mechanisms and plot progression seen time and time again in hundreds of films.

If you are a big fan of basketball then i would say have a look at this movie. If not, you can probably skip it and not be missing anything at all.

6 / 10

Sort:  

Is this film for everyone? No, probably not. But I think there's at least something everyone can enjoy. It's a sports movie with a little bit of romance, comedy, and plenty of heart. So even if you're not out at your local park pretending to be Jordan or LeBron, there's plenty to be enjoyed here. I found it to be a lot like Tag from a few weeks prior. I didn't necessarily laugh out loud more than a few times (dissimilar to what my audience did at the theater), but I found myself connected to these ridiculous characters and smiling along with this wild ride. Reggie Miller and Chris Webber were surprisingly tolerable as actors, and actually pretty funny at times. Kyrie Irving did his best to co-lead a film in which he's in makeup that's "supposed to" age him 60+ years. And of course there's Shaq, who certainly improves upon the last movie I remember him leading, Kazaam. But the film only works if you buy into Lil Rey Howery as Dax, a down on his luck basketball coach who just wants to win the Rucker Park tournament one year. I could do without the Tiffany Haddish storyline, which felt like something out of a lame sitcom, but I bought into his failed basketball career and his aspirations to coach a champion. Sure, you know exactly where the film is going, but if the film succeeds in telling the story it wants to tell, it doesn't necessarily matter the route it took to get there.

I couldn't bring myself to watch this, so thanks for saving me the 2 hours.

Wao this is very great and funny movie.Very interesting movie.I hope everyone watch this great movieThanks for sharing.

I was very interested on watching this movie and my hipe was very high, but what you write disapponited me. I love basketball and I hoped it could be a good movie, but now I do not think I will go to the cinema.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really like these comedy movies, they look great and they relate very well, I hope to see the movie very soon.

I'm a little surprise how entertaining I found Uncle Drew. Seriously funny I'm laughing all the time. Plus Ex-basketball players like Shaq, Chris Webber, Reggie Miller and Lisa Leslie are as entertaining using their skills to put balls into baskets as actors as they are using their skills to put balls though baskets as basketball players.

Well worth it if you love basketball. Total slam dunk (pun intended)

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This movie seemed to be boring!

I'd watch it, but I wouldnt pay $10+ to see it. I'll wait for it on Netflix or something like that. I always enjoy seeing Shaq, but I'll wait. Thanks for review!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31