The Terminal – another endearing Tom Hanks classic

in #films6 years ago

I used to spend a lot of time in airports as the first 2 jobs that I ever had were both traveling jobs because they paid well if you were willing to live your life out of a suitcase.

63e03d10e4aea5d09f3c1c03f1142e13.jpg

Tom Hanks’ character has a slightly more immersive situation as far feeling as though he lives at an airport is concerned as he actually does have to live at an airport. While in transit, civil war breaks out in his home country of Krakozhia(fictional) and since his country has been dissolved, he can not enter the United States (I don’t think this is how that system works, it might)

the-terminal-main_trans_NvBQzQNjv4BqOjwtMIBfBvsmIG0UzgZgYPhrltaUY50V0um6z1LiQa0.jpg

He speaks very little English, he knows no one, and his currency is useless because of the fact that there is not country to back up the cash anymore. Obviously this presents some problems. He can not go home, and he can not enter the United States. I think that in this situation he would probably be entitled to some sort of asylum but whatever, that would ruin the entire premise for the film.

He ends up making friends and his situation gets the attention of many of the other staff of the airport who are sympathetic to his situation and do what they can to help him as he ends up helping many of them along the way as well just by being a genuinely nice guy.

the-terminal-movie3.jpg

It is a story filled with truly touching moments that I suppose are typical of Hanks movies but I think if I had to choose my favorites of what he has done this would definitely be in the top 5. It’s mostly a drama, but it has elements of comedy and romance in it as well. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie and would gladly watch it again.

It isn’t exactly action-packed but I actually feel that the story is exactly as long as it needs to be because none of the scenes in the film’s #### minutes seem unnecessary or superfluous. Everything that happens is needed for the story. Tom does a great job impersonating what I think is an eastern European accent and at one point he speaks what I think is Russian and it seems legit. I’ll have to ask a Russian.

I am currently sitting in a terminal of my own at the moment and thankfully I only have a few more hours here. As is traditional with Hanks' work, this movie made a ton of money

8 / 10

Sort:  

A movie with great moments. My favorite scene was one in which the character played by Tom helps a foreigner who wants to transport some medicines.

It was a really good movie and script . That said, Hanks has a way of adding that special feel to it, he definitely made it extra good with his performance

It's a nice movie, I've only seen it once but what I remember was good. Hanks always do an excellent work.

I think that in this situation he would probably be entitled to some sort of asylum but whatever, that would ruin the entire premise for the film.
I also think that, but many movies would be quite boring if they stick to logic

ha! yeah, that is the truth.

All my life we are limited in something. Restricted by laws, territory, moral regulations and much more. There is no one who is allowed everything. However, there is one who cannot get beyond the airport.
Ask yourself the question: what would I do if I were in the place of Victor? I guess I would get myself to eat. A person can live without a home, without clothes, but without food he will not stretch. It is laid by nature. However, where can he get money for lunch? Do not begging! Victor finds a way out. He gets a job, he helps visitors, and the latter does it completely free of charge. It is in these situations, we see what kind of person. He made the whole terminal live differently. All the police, all the bosses. After all, a simple ordinary human good and not enough in this world.
During these two hours, you can live his life, as if he was near us. You can feel this fine line between good and evil. Finally, to understand that, by restricting a person’s borders, he does not die, on the contrary, he lives.

Yea dude I liked this film quite a lot. I remember just chucking it on one night as it was on tv and I was thinking to myself... oh this is going to be shite... then actually really captivated and ended up watching the whole thing and enjoying it!

Agree. Actually, I don´t like Tom Hanks very much but his role in this movie is outstanding.

One of the best movies i ever watched.
Tom hanks accent was to the T.

Tom (^^)

It is very good and interesting movie.Tom Hanks is very good actor.He is so famous actor.Very amazing acting by tom hanks.He is grest comedian.Very amazing trailor of this movie.This movie is most popular in the world.I really like this movie.Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47