The Ridiculous 6 (film) - really bad

in #films5 years ago

I love Adam Sandler. I feel as though he is one of the few actors out there that can successfully transition from comedy to drama and be very convincing in either. This is evidenced in "Reign over Me," "Punch Drunk Love," "The Meyerowitz Stories," and "Funny People" (which was kind of a drama / comedy hybrid.) That being said, the ridiculous 6 was just awful in so many ways.


source

For starters, the movie isn't funny. I am very aware of the fact that Sandler often goes for juvenile humor and in many cases such as Billy Madison, Happy GIlmore, and The Wedding Singer this works extremely well. However the juvenile humor in this film is just dumb.


source

This film was also a chance for Adam to get all of his pals, most noticeably Rob Schneider a paycheck that they otherwise would not be entitled to (it gets frustrating to me to see Schneider in Sandler movies because I don't think he is funny for the most part.)

The story is about "White Knife" (Sandler) who was raised by Native Americans and is going to marry "Smoking Fox" who is, as her name would suggest, very beautiful. He ends up going on a quest to find his long-lost father and along the way meets a string of half-brothers who are all absurd in a way that was meant to be funny, but it just isn't.

Throughout the film, the team is relentlessly pursued by a gang called the "Left Eye Gang" because, you guessed it, all of them intentionally removed their right eyes as a way of getting into the gang. I suppose this is meant to be funny, but it is, like much of the rest of this film, dumb.


source

This film caused some controversy because the Native Americans are presented in a ignorant light in the film and many of the actors walked off the set and refused to be in the film. I did kind of like the studios response to this though when they said "this is a parody of western films throughout the years, almost everyone in the film is presented as being flawed, and it does have the word "ridiculous" in the title."

Apparently Sandler took time out to speak with the remaining Native Americans in the film and address their concerns about the controversy to assure them that there was no malicious intent and I suppose that was nice of him. I've always felt that Sandler seems like a genuinely kind person.

There is such a star-studded cast that it is just a shame that this movie was just so incredibly lame. I mean even Vanilla Ice is in it as Mark Twain! I do not recommend that anyone watch this film. It doesn't even qualify for the title of "so bad that it is good." I am a massive Sandler fan and will give almost anything he is involved in the time of day and I struggled to get through it. However, no matter how much you admire someone there are things they can do that will make you just wish you could have those 2 hours of your life back and for me, that was this film.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "wowsers Penny!" I give the ridiculous 6 a well-deserved

"Urgh!

Sort:  

haha, I see you really weren't impressed with this one. I got a couple laughs out of it but I think we're generally on the same boat with this one.

I feel like Adam Sandler is really hit and miss. When he misses, it's generally a pretty bad miss. But there are definitely some great ones out there.

Great post! I only made it part way through this film before I abandoned ship. Good on ya

your analysis of this film seem to prove that this film fall short of the audience expectation in terms of maturity and been hilarious. i will say that the director of this film has to be blame for a poor work @gooddream

I guess it goes with the title of the movie ridiculous

I agree, 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74