Predator (film) : Do i even need to explain this to anyone?

in #films6 years ago

The fact that this movie has not been redone with the Rock yet is a real surprise to me. The advancements in CGI that the cinematic world has experienced since 1987 have been immense. If you watched this film (as I did) in 1987, you were probably blown away.

42364b951f9787077a265062947de26b.jpg

I guess what I am trying to say is that this film was pretty unique as far as Schwarzenegger films are concerned. We know the script: bunch of special forces dudes with interesting pasts go somewhere and destroy the hell out of whatever it is that they are up against.... right? Well this one functions in a slightly different way because the best of the planet are not quite good enough.

jesse-ventura-predator-20016057-1280x0.jpg
two future governors in the same film

The team of U.S. Army Special Forces elite rescue team lead by Alan “Dutch” Schaefer (Arnold) come in arrogant expecting this encounter to be a walk in the park and at first it appears as though it will be but (and i fear I am wasting my breath because everyone already knows the story) it becomes significantly more difficult / impossible when an assailant that they can not see starts picking them off one by one.

Predator-1987.jpg

You already know the drill. This movie was actually quite gory given the time period and what sort of film it was. I'm not trying to say that Arnold was involved in purely clean movies but this one was particularly gruesome in the manor in which people were killed in it. Arnold was in full-on action mode at this point in his career. He wouldn't transition to comedies until at least a few more years after this.

The trailer is filled with cheesy one-liners but that was part of the fun of Arnold action films in the 80's. I think if i were to watch this now i would be disappointed in how the movie progressed but i am going to rate it based on the memories I have of the film in my mind. Keep in mind that this film was so epic that it spawned a whole mess of video games and spinoff films, some of which were ok. I feel as though this was one of the better Schwarzenegger films ever.

8 / 10

Sort:  

Oh that heat vision !
I just watched the new predator movie! Without s doubt, among all the sci-fi series made in Hollywood, Predator is and always will be in my top priority list.
When the first film came in 87 starring Schwarzenegger, it really blown away people's mind and changed the traditional thoughts about aliens and their plate like flying disks!
When at last, Arnold lose the predator (or I can say hunter) in it's own way, I really liked that, the best possible way to an ending.
The cgi and makeup work was fabulous. I remember reading somewhere that the actor who played the predator in costume had same huge height like him... Approx 7 feet. 😱
Very nice review mate. Hope to see more on sci-fi reviews @gooddream.

stay well and keep posting!

Posted using Partiko Android

hello @gooddream my name is @chaira, this is my first time to visit your post, I hope this is our first meeting in esteem, I was also amazed at the first time you saw your post, this is a very interesting movie story and I really like Your post, even though you are discussing about the film that is circulating now, thank you for sharing with us all @gooddream.
and I @chaira congratulations to know you @gooddream.

well thanks for stopping by... nice to meet you!

One of the best action movies ever.
My rating would be 9.
I cannot resist watching if it is on TV no matter how many times I watched it.
It left great memories from the childhood

After the crash of a helicopter of a minister in a Central America island, Dutch (Arnold Schwarzenegger) and his team of special force are assigned to rescue him from the guerrillas. Soon they learn that they were sent to the island for another reason and there is an alien warrior hunting them down.

"Predator" is a timeless sci-fi action film with Arnold Schwarzenegger and a team of "badasses". The stor is engaging and suspenseful even when the viewer sees many times. Thirty years after the release, "Predator" has become a classic in the genre. My vote is nine.

Wait. This was made in 80s? I think I first watched it in 99... Scary shit for me back then. This one is among the ones that couldn't let my younger self sleep in peace... This and the likes of King Cobra. All thrillers yet I regarded them as horrors. That was until I watched real horrors like The Rite by Anthony Hopkins. I always learn something from your reviews!

I'd like to see this guy cast as "Dutch". That would be worth the $10 bucks to see...

that is a terrifying video. thanks for sharing. As someone who shoots for sport it always makes me uneasy when someone is f**king around with a lethal weapon in their hand. If he is an instructor i hope that got taken away from him.

Yeah, I shoot a lot too. This guy made himself famous for all the wrong reasons. A pretty dangerous situation really. Maybe it's best he doesn't get the role as Dutch in the new Predator huh? 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I love Arnie. Predator is one of his best movies. Commando and Terminator are my favourites.

I do think this movie is amazing, although it was released back in 80's but its charisma still spreads on me because I am a fan of Arnold anyway.

Hello @gooddream, nice to meet you again. today you discuss predatory films starred by Arnold.

I know this film. and I've watched it several times. this film is very extraordinary. and until now I still want to see it. but I don't know if this film was already in 1987. and I agree with you, that this film looks terrible. but this film is also very exciting.

i never said the film looks terrible :P

I apologize @gooddream, I have misquoted your words.

great movie, but if this movie was made with rock so may be its ranking 10 out of 10. @gooddream thank you heartily. we like your various kind of post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37