Monster (film): Academy Award winning and it deserves it

in #films5 years ago

I watched Fast and Furious 8 yesterday and Chalize Theron stars as the main villain. This got me thinking about how strikingly beautiful Charlize is and then I remembered her stunning transformation in the film "Monster" and how I believe it was one of the best movies of 2003.


source

Charlize, it is reported, intentionally gained 30 pounds (I did that by accident one year, maybe i should be in movies), shaved her eyebrows, and wore fake teeth for this film. This normally incredibly-lovely woman transformed herself into, as the title would suggest, a Monster of a person.

Theron plays the role of real-life serial killer Aileen Wuornos who killed 7 people in the late 80's and early 90's. The people she killed were all customers as she was a prostitute at the time. While most film stars have a maybe somewhat of a resemblance to the actual person they are portraying. Charlize's transformation is uncanny.


source
side-by-side comparison of the two

The reason why she kills these men was a means to make money to support herself and her girlfriend, Selby Wall. Selby is played by Christina Ricci in the film but Selby is not an actual person. The real girlfriend was named Tyria Moore and was a maid at a hotel. I don't know why they decided to completely change who the girlfriend was in the film, but i am sure they have their reasons.

Despite the fact that the main character is obviously a horrible and mentally unstable person, you can't help but sympathize with her throughout the film. This might have something to do with Charlize's incredible portrayal of a deeply disturbed tough girl who is a bit of a softy when it comes to certain aspects of life such as the pursuit of acceptance, friendship, and love.

This movie is quite old and even though it made $60 million at the box office (due largely to renewed interest post-award ceremony) there are a ton of people out there that haven't seen it. I strongly recommend you do so as it is likely in my top 20 of all time film experiences.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I gladly give Monster the well-deserved rating of....


flat,550x550,075,f.u2.jpg

Sort:  

This sounds like a very good film! Have never heard of it before, we don’t have many good films here! Only action-films mostly!

Very nice review!

in Thailand? Well yeah, at the theaters we mostly only get western action films for sure :)

You must have quite a big collection of DVDs!!
It’s difficult to find old films on DVDs nowadays!

Posted using Partiko iOS

i don't have any DVD's.. or VCR or Betamax tapes. IT's all on the interwebs.

Exactly! I don't know about you but I love my torrents. I travel with an HDMI Cord, connect the flat screen to my computer and I've got a highly valued creature comfort most travelers don't have. Off to Ecuador tomorrow! Hope you are well. -Dan

I watched this ages ago, and it was pretty decent. Enough to make me look up the history of Aileen Wuornos. The real one is quite a big uglier than Charlene :)

Very interesting. I was first introduced to this person through American Horror Story: Hotel. It is a very interesting backstory especially since female serial killers are so much less common than male ones. My wife and I are still plugging through the Ted Bundy Tapes. They are interesting we just don't have a ton of time to sit down and watch them. I read about a new Netflix horror movie that has a lot of people getting sick. Crap, I can't find the name of it now.

Charlize Theron's big transformation for this movie. Her talent as an actress is evident, thank you for the recommendation @gooddream.

Surprisingly I have not seen this movie yet. Usually women use makeup to look good, here Charlize had to do just the opposite. I have it on my list for a long time, I will try to see it soon.

Excellent I am malpica, I loved this post I had time without seeing you but always aware of your news chance I listened to a band called cannibal coprse and there is much apology to serial killers. Very few women are discovered and more if they are serial killers .... I want to see a publication of restoration jejeje

i don't really understand what you are saying here but you mentioned death metal so i'll upvote you anyway :)

I had seen this a few years back, Usually "true crime" like stories aren't my thing, neither is stuff about serial killers (outside of the natural curiousity that one has about such infamous people)

As far as this movie goes - I was very impressed at the time on how they managed to work the story so that you got more of a full unbiased story as you might have gotten in the media. A big part of that was the charachter development, you see the transformation in reasoning and personality as the story neared the end.

Also If you're a fan of Charlize as well as action films, I Highly recommend you see Mad Max Fury Road which i enjoyed it's story and world building, and was amazed by how it executed the action scenes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67