Les Miserables (film): overrated

in #films6 years ago

Don't get me wrong because I love the story, and I have seen the Broadway production twice and would definitely go and see it again if I had the chance. However, that doesn't change the fact that I truly felt bored while I was watching this.

1002004013301612.jpg

Perhaps it is BECAUSE of the fact that I am so familiar with the story and musical that I didn't enjoy it. Perhaps it is because I have the idea in my head about how the songs should sound and the characters in the movie weren't capable of sounding exactly like that. I know this would be an unfair way of critiquing this film, but I can't help how i feel.

maxresdefault.jpg

With such a loaded cast it is no surprise that it made a crap-ton of money and was nominated for a bunch of awards as well as winning some of them. Director Tom Hooper was definitely trolling for Oscars when he decided that the musical numbers were actually performed and recorded in real time; IE no one was lip-syncing in the scenes. This was undoubtedly extremely difficult and time-consuming as doing acting or singing is difficult enough on their own - and the slightest mistake would require spending a great deal more time on each individual segment.

les-miserables-2012-movie-clip-screenshot-another-story-must-begin_large.jpg

I was actually quite happy when it did NOT win best picture because it seemed to me to be a cash grab from an already well-known and to be honest, a bit worn out story. Perhaps this is an unpopular opinion. However, I have never enjoyed film adaptation of any Broadway production and this includes especially Phantom.

I did enjoy the decision to place Sasha Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter in the mostly comedic roles of the Thénardiers.

e602aafdbe0843238f68104adf5b1114.png

A pretty epic trailer, even i will admit that. I'm not saying this movie is bad, because it isn't. I just think that it is overrated and not necessarily Oscar-worthy. But when you spend that much money and take on such a daunting task, i suppose the Oscar nod is inevitable. For me anyway, i actually skipped parts of the movie while i was watching it. Perhaps familiarity truly does breed contempt.

6 / 10

Sort:  

Shooting musicals based on historical novels impose a lot of complex elements that should as trained soldiers - lined up in a slender row of beauty, courage and grace.
This film is reminiscent of what is happening on the barricades shown in the film. A huge motley mass of flowers, furniture, dirt, songs and confined space. At times, the film turns into a combination of fiction and fantasy with a very deep stylization into the history of that period. This causes a response. The game of reality and the truth of feelings breaks off when a picture or scenery that is very inappropriate to the plot arises in the frame. Perhaps the use of styling intended to show that period without embellishment. As a result, artificiality is very clearly seen. Therefore, it is difficult to believe in the experiences of the heroes. An important point - director Tom Hooper constantly plays with close-ups. At times, scenes consist only of close-ups. It looked very good in The King's Speech, but how this technique is used in this dynamic musical destroys the integrity of these close-ups.
In this film, there is probably one best example - the innkeeper’s song about how he cleans his clients. Very mischievous, stylized story in the style of films Tim Burton. The rest of the little things do not allow to fully immersing themselves in the composition.

wonderful follow-up. well done. :)

Okay So, the x-men's wolf is present here too! anyway do you watch movie on regular basis, it seems like you do as you write very frequently and those reviews are generous !

mostly i pull from memories but yes, i watch one a day... sometimes more.

That's amazing that you put your entertainment stuff into something really productive by writing reviews. Lot to learn from you!

I think these days the Oscars also looks at views, opinion and definitely the amount of money spent to dish out the awards, I think the calibre of the actors too, for me I think it's qualitative production sold this one for me, I'll rate it

7/10

Yaeh thats right... I think it is beter to be original than to immitate something that won't stand the test of time.. Probably their selection of characters was not absolute.. But there is always room for improvement. "Quality" they say, knows no tribe.

This new film not good I say it is bad... but old 1998 year film is very good .


I actually enjoyed it though

I do not prefer exaggerated movies
I do not like watching exaggerated movies
But I will try this time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63039.96
ETH 2549.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78