Law Abiding Citizen (film): better than average

in #films6 years ago

It kind of depends on if you like revenge-oriented crime / thrillers. I know that I do

law-abiding-citizen-movie-poster.jpg

The basic plot is that Clyde Shelton (Gerard Butler) witnesses the brutal murder of his wife and child in the foyer of his own house. The perpetrators are caught but a lazy judicial system allows one of the two men to serve only a suspended sentence and is released from prison after only a few years. Feeling as though the system is incapable of serving justice, Shelton takes matters into his own hands in a rather diabolical fashion. It is the first time I can recall anyone ever using puffer-fish poison in a film.

Glock-RTF-Law-Abiding-Citizen-1.jpg

When he captures the man responsible for his family's murder, he is ever so slightly brutal towards him. As a matter of fact this is considered one of the most brutal scenes ever depicted in a film and I am just going to leave it at that.

maxresdefault.jpg

Jamie Foxx's role in all of this is that the is the Prosecuting Attorney during the trial that results in Clyde's anger and subsequent revenge. He finds himself being one of the subjects of Clyde's far-reaching and meticulously planned vengeance later on.

57f68e998bc7d.image.jpg

While the premise isn't exactly unique, the acting is decent and the pace of the film is just right for a nearly 2-hour film. You stay interested in what is going on and the movie isn't terribly predictable either (which is always nice.) At least for me, i found myself torn between whether or not I should be rooting for the bad guy despite the fact that he does horrible things.

I said in the title that this movie is better than average and that is exactly how I feel about it. The only reason that I can say that it isn't great is that the whole concept of one person being capable of what Clyde is capable of in this movie is incredibly unrealistic and kind of borders on absurd. However, it is fiction and if you can accept that you will find this movie entertaining.

6 / 10

Sort:  

This was a good movie. One I'd re-watch any time and enjoy it as though I haven't seen it before.

Ever reviewed 'Inception' by DiCaprio? I have never made the time to watch it but I would still love a good review and its pretty obvious that you are good at it.

Posted using Partiko Android

You don’t need a review for Inception
Watch it with no idea of plot. You won’t regret at all.

Duly noted! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

you need to watch Inception as soon as possible. It may have been a while ago but i believe I already did review it. Epic film.

That settles it! Thank you :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I've never watched this one. It sounds like an entertaining film, I think all the revenge oriented films are entertaining because they please some parts of us that would love to seek that kind of justice

Good Gosh! Do you ever sleep or talk to people?! It seems you are glued to the box all day long! You must have been a film producer or director, you know all the Western films!

There are so many good old films I’d like to see again but I don’t know where to find them nowadays; no dvds in the market here either.

Envy your liberty to watch all these old films!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I spend a lot of time at home in front of a computer. Too much probably. haha I'll likely return to reviewing Korean films before long. If you get a chance, check some of those out.

i have also heared about it great movie from india

Really wonderful movie I've seen

Seen few times and has to watch it when comes on TV. Can’t ignore.
Enjoyed it

I reallly like fighting movies.This is best fighting movie.Great entertainment in this movie.Revenge-oriented very critical crime seen in this movie.Many peoples watch this movie in pakistan.I also like this movie.Thanks for sharing.

I remember "V for Vendetta", where the mysterious and elusive revolutionary avenger puts on his knees, destroys the whole system of the totalitarian regime of England. Vendetta comes to its final goal. However, what happens at Law Abiding Citizen? For what, in fact, has Clyde been preparing for ten years for an unprecedented upheaval of the system? In order that the Law, which he wanted to expose, would triumph. It turns out something really utter. The film "Law Abiding Citizen" is taken to promote the invincibility and invincibility of American justice, which will subject any antagonist and rebel to disclosure and destruction. For the sake of the plot, yes, it was for the sake of the intricacies of the plot that all porridge was brewed. Why Americans cannot afford the destruction of existing standards? Why does the film “Law Abiding Citizen” emanate the usual political correctness? Would it be worse if Clyde smashed, crushed, turned the system over? Made a revolution. Instead, the director Gary Gray went over to the side of Nick (Jamie Foxx) that is, to the side of law and order, thereby proclaiming himself a law-abiding citizen. Well, that is his choice. However, each choice leads to consequences. This led to the fact that the film "Law Abiding Citizen" did not do anything with the cinema system, and with the system of my mind.

I think this movie was a surprise package when it came out. The revenge concept is by no means new but the execution and the plot twists made it a fun ride and I really enjoyed following the character exact his revenge without any remorse. Bulter was an absolute savage in this movie and is one of the first roles I saw him in that felt believable

I was literally considering watching this for the first time last night. Opted for Valerian instead.

Now I need to watch this one. Sounds really good and its written by the writer/director of Equilibrium, which I love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81