Go (film): a pretty decent film from the 90's that nobody saw

in #films6 years ago

It has since achieved cult status, but for years I think most people allowed this movie to pass them by - which is a shame because it is a really great film.

go-movie-poster-1999-1020199203.jpg

A lot of this film has to do with a bunch of people who, for various reasons are trying to get to this rave for various reasons. Their stories are not related at first but they get intertwined as the story goes along. One of the characters that is heavily focused on is Ronna Martin (Sarah Polley) who accidentally becomes a part-time drug-dealer and she is not very good at it.

go1.png

She ends up getting really nervous about someone asking too many questions and ends up flushing her stash of pills down the toiled because she believes the question asker was an undercover cop. She ends up getting over-the-counter medication and selling those pills as well. This is the only thing i am going to spoil about this movie because I was young in the 90's and the way in which everyone gets "high" from pills that aren't even ecstasy reminds me of a bunch of people I knew back in those days. People that were so desperate for attention that they would do something like take a baby aspirin and then be all sorts of messed up because of it.

anyway, moving one. The reason why this movie is great is because the different characters (and there are a lot of them) have their own stories but eventually all of the stories come together. They are told in a non linear fashion similar to the way in which Pulp Fiction was presented.

2950-2.jpg
these two are great in this, what happened to them?

The film is fast-paced and never boring and one of my favorite actors who really doesn't get as much screen time as I feel he deserves is in it too. William Fichtner plays Burke, a police officer with a few secrets and no, i am not going to spoil this one, but it was great.

02.jpg
this is William Fichtner, by the way

I really can't imagine what it was about this movie that made it have such a poor showing at the box office. Perhaps the name of the movie or the fact that it was related to drugs made it difficult to market. I don't know. I like it and even feel as though it has real re-watch value as well.

8 / 10

Sort:  

As you said, I have not seen it. But it looks like one of those little hidden gems, waiting to be found. I'll take a look, you've given it a good rating, it also has good actors.

Old movies have beauty
I love watching old movies
I will definitely see

Not seen it strangely. Just read some other reviews and it seems great. Not sure why it bombed at box office

Ugh, i think i remember this movie. Its one of those movies thats in the back of your head, you cant place it but you know you had a good time watching it. I might rewatch this. thx. :D

Interesting, maybe I'll watch this.

/FF

Another great non-Christmas Christmas movie, worthy of placement alongside the first two Die Hards and the entire Shane Black canon. It's one of those '90s post-Pulp Fiction 'interweaving stories' things, but is one of the better examples, a bit grim in parts, but hilarious throughout. Some great performances among the ensemble, particularly from Polley, Olyphant, Askew and Fichtner. Sometimes when I see a Mazda MX-5, I still call out, 'It's a Miata!' I'm usually alone when this happens.

great. another copy-paster in my midst. i had high hopes for you.. http://itsmude.com/member?memberID=72698

The next time you feel like plagiarizing, just remember... i will upvote almost any comment on my stuff. It doesn't even need to make sense. GO ahead and look at literally every other comment on this post. All of them are upvoted except for yours. Also now i am going to go back to remove all upvotes i have given you in the past 7 days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36