Coach Carter (film): Awesome movie

in #films5 years ago

I can't believe that it took me this long to actually see this film. It was a released in 2005 and has a few faces you will recognize in it, but mostly if focuses on Samual Jackson.

coach-carter-poster-wallpaper.jpg
source

When it comes to sports related biopics I think there are two camps out there: Those that love them, and those that find the twists and turns too predictable. While I can identify with where the 2nd group is coming from I still end up falling into the first category. Yes, we know that the ending must be a good one or they wouldn't bother making an inspirational film about it. However, I tend to enjoy the steps along the way.


source

You probably recongnize the guy in the picture above. There are a couple of other people that are reasonably famous, but again, the main person on display is Jackson. For me, I find these sorts of films inspiring mostly because this story is based on a true story and that is what makes it so special. The real life coach Carter went to a high school in California that is known for its rough neighborhooods and poorly performing students, and transitioned a losing basketball team into not just a winning basketball team, but reformed the players lives academically, and just in a general sense.

coachcarter.jpg
source

The coach is really hard on the kids, not just in basketball where he works them very hard in practice to make them better players, but also requires absolute respect from them and demands that the entire team maintains good grades in their classes as well.

I understand that this might not appeal to everyone because it is pretty obvious that it is going to have a happy ending, just like other sports films such as "the Blind Side" does (which I also loved.) This, at least for me and I think many other people, is not enough to convince me to not enjoy these true life success stories though. As critical as I am of Hollywood for having predictable films, for some reason, the ones in this category get a pass from me and I really enjoy them. Last night I watched this movie intently... I didn't even look at my smartphone once.

On a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Coach Carter the overall score of....


tumblr_nvsv177bFA1uitzhdo1_400.jpg

Sort:  

It was a really good movie. I like a lot of these types of movies as well. This one kind of reminded me of Lean on Me. That was such a good movie. I'd have no problem watching Hoosiers, Remember the Titans, or Glory Road any day if I had to.

I like all those films. I think Hoosiers is probably my favorite. Blue Chips as well but that was fiction. I am not sure if i have seen Lean on Me but someone mentioned it in conversation yesterday. I'll have to see if that is on Netflix.

Oh, man. If lean on me is available, you totally have to watch it. It was part of the curriculum I'm my high school health class. The fact that Morgan Freeman is in it should be enough to draw anyone in. Between that movie and Stand and deliver it is no surprise that I ended up working in public education.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not on Netflix, probably doesn't have enough of a liberal agenda :P

There are of course other methods of watching stuff. I will check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81