Blood Rain (Korean): I'm sorry, what just happened?

in #films6 years ago (edited)

I really want to rank this film higher because it was beautifully shot with great costumes, scenery, and a wonderful score. However, the story is just too difficult to follow.

Blood-Rain-film-images-d34d53c2-1eb6-4bf2-b313-def56542811.jpg

Perhaps it is because I am not Korean, or because Korean names all start to sound the same to me after I hear a bunch of them; or maybe it is because almost every character in this movie (other than the handful of women in it) had the same facial hair setup, but I don't really know what the hell just happened.

I watched it because it appeared on a list that I am going to ignore henceforth of "shocking Korean movies" and I was excited because well, I enjoy Korean movies. This one, however, was just too convoluted for me. If you feel differently or if you are Korean and a big fan of this film I apologize, but for me I wasn't entirely sure what was going on even after re-watching it.

The film seems to focus on an isolated island that is famous for its modern (for the time period presented) paper factory but some grisly murders happened there. A mainland government detective (of sorts) comes over to the island with some soldiers to try to figure things out. What he discovers is that the murders are part of a revenge reenactment of executions that was conducted against previous inhabitants nearly a decade ago. The original people were murdered (mostly) for being Catholic by government officials.

I think maybe this film was seen as being "shocking" because there are some pretty gruesome murder sequences including someone getting drawn and quartered that from a gore perspective anyway, were very well shot. However, this is not what my idea of "shocking" is. I want a twist that was completely unexpected but still makes sense. The only really shocking thing (other than the gore) was a sequence at the end where the villagers start killing themselves because they are overcome by some "blood rain" that falls at the very end and confirms their beliefs in what was presented throughout the film as superstitious nonsense.

photo4230.jpg
great costumes and scenery though

I find that this film is too difficult to follow and therefore can not give it really high marks for anything other than artistic integrity.

If you are following my advice on which Korean movies to have a look at, i would suggest that you skip this one because after watching it twice, I am not really even sure what is going on for the most part. Maybe I'm stupid, but i just don't get it.

3 / 10 ( basically, skip it, there are better things to watch for now )

As always i welcome your comments!

Sort:  

Great review . I love watching foreign movies but I to have issues with understanding story lines but really it depends on how I’m watching the movie .

I realize that movies that are Dubbed in English sometimes throw me off because they tend to shorten or stretch out certain sentences to fit the scene .. so movie with subtitles I tend to enjoy more and understand .

i never watch dubbed films but then again, since i don't speak Korean, can i really know if the subs are correctly translated ? :)

흥미있는 한국영화가 많지만 특히나 역사영화(사극)은 그중에도 멋진 색상과 색다른 배경들은 유럽의 역사영화와는 다른 매력이 있습니다.
조선남녀상열지사 (Untold Scandal,2013) 도 매력적입니다.

i translated your message. I will check out Untold Scandal. Thanks for the tip! :)

Another great movie review my friend . I don’t think I’d watch this one lol as you’ve advised.
Thanks for sharing anyways . Hope you having a great weekend

I know Korean to have the same look, but those guys in the same costume are complicating things already. Ahhahaha

I can imagine what you have to face trying to denote who the main character was... Lol

Sticking to your advice, the film has been cancelled from the list, 3/10 is too poor to spend hours watching.

Haha well I see you are watching a lot of movies. @gooddream I really like and appreciate your work. Your way of writing is really inspiring. I am not a professional writer so I am learninging from brilliant people like you sir. Keep up the good work. Thanks a lot for sharing this post

Korean films have been quite popular even in my country Indonesia, I actually also like nya.film that you show is interesting in terms of his story..
Thanks to share @gooddream

I Think You all time research a new movie, that's result it.

am i right sir ?

i watch a movie every day yes. This one was disappointing... twice

Wait did it not have subtitle? Because from your post you convey the impression you totally didn't comprehend anything, well, although you said we should skip i'd still wanna take a look at it though perhaps i may understand it and relay things to you better

it had subtitles.

One thing that I really liked about this film is that it was really easy to understand the antagonist, while still knowing that what he was doing (murder) was wrong and how the film doesn't at all make this seem contrived. Blood Rain is a fairly solid murder mystery/suspense piece and the period setting really adds a lot to the film. If you can ingest or ignore the supernatural element of the film, you'll find a rather entertaining ride of a film here

I love watching a Korean movie.
I saw many martial arts movie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66845.00
ETH 3089.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72