28 days later (film) - an excellent atypical zombie flick

in #films5 years ago

Unlike most people, I grew tired of the zombie genre long before most of the general public. I felt as though the genre had already been milked dry by the time this film was released in 2002 and the only reason I went to see it is because the film I had intended to see that day in Chicago was sold out (consequently, this was the first time this had ever happened to me in my life.) I didn't even know it was a zombie film. I had never heard of it as British films normally don't get a great deal of press in the US and A. However, i was on a date and I wasn't just going to leave the cinema.


source

The film starts out with a bunch of social justice warriors breaking into a medical facility in order to release some captive chimps. The researchers plead with the activists to not release them because they are infected with a highly-contagious rage-inducing virus. Being the good little uniformed hippies that they are, the completely ignore the researcher and release the chimps. One of the chimps infects a woman activist and she proceeds to infect the rest of the group. I can't say that I didn't applaud a little bit at that.


source

The screen goes blank and we are introduced to "Jim" who has been in a coma in a hospital for 28 days. He awakes to find the hospital deserted and wanders around a now destroyed London completely unaware of what has unfolded while he was asleep. He eventually comes to a church / cathedral which is an absolutely brilliant scene in this movie about Jim being first introduced to the zombies that now control the city.


source
I can't even imagine how they shot these scenes since there is no chance they could have blocked off all of downtown London for a movie shoot

Jim ends up meeting other survivors and they go on a quest to get out of the city as a team. Aside from certain scenes like when they decided to drive their car OVER other cars rather than find a way around the movie takes a bunch of very unpredictable turns (just a dumb decision that of course result in the destruction of their only vehicle and is frustrating to watch.)


source

The thing I like best about the zombies is that they really aren't zombies in the traditional sense (like a Walking Dead sense) they are still humans just faster because the virus has enraged them all. They still die by conventional means the same way that a human was, they just don't seem to be affected by fatigue the same way that a non-infected person would be if they also were enraged for some reason. In this regard it is a more plausible scenario (in my mind) than re-animated dead wandering around craving eating brains for some reason.

They also can starve to death the same way that non-zombos can, which eventually is the strategy for their elimination.

I don't know if this was Cillian Murphy's first breakthrough film but he certainly did a wonderful job. I really enjoyed him in later roles especially Scarecrow in the Dark Knight Trilogy. This movie was a fantastic box-office success, managing to pull in $85 million from a budget of a mere $8 million. Given the relatively small budget, I think that this film goes to show that you don't need to spend $100 million to make a visually appealing film.

on a scale of "urgh!" to "Wowsers Penny!" I give 28 days later a very heartfelt


"Wowsers Penny!

Sort:  

You should see the begining of 28 weeks later. Awful and frustrating.

On another note I don't like the zombie genre. It's cool at first, but there comes a point where the zombie threat level is stabilized and yet the "intelligent" humans keep finding new ways to be unprepared. Stupidity is what keeps the cameras rolling.

yes and in all of these types of movies I don't believe that any sort of outbreak like this could possibly overpower every country's military. I mean 7000 enraged unarmed zombies wouldn't stand a chance against a minigun.

I can't even imagine how they shot these scenes since there is no chance they could have blocked off all of downtown London for a movie shoot

Exactly my thoughts with a lot of movies and series. :)
And then I keep focussing on the background without focussing on the story and actors. Lol!

i immediately think green-screen set, but even that would be incredibly amazing. i bet this information is online. That would be an interesting read i'm sure.

One of the chimps infects a woman activist and she proceeds to infect the rest of the group. I can't say that I didn't applaud a little bit at that

Looool. Preferred the second part, One of my favs back in the day.... Before the Walking Dead came and stole all my attention.

It's a very good movie indeed! :)

I think that the London shot was taken in several days. The team managed to block the areas where they were shooting and they only has some minutes to do their work. From what I know, they did this very early in the morning to avoid traffic issue... and also, lighting was a huge challenge to get the scene as we watch it in the film. Please, take a look into my very last post which also is related to films, I would like to talk to you about movies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42