More Seattle Gold Cup 1950's

in #filmphotography6 years ago

35mm slides taken by my father with an unknown camera. Scanned by me with a PowerSlide 5000 using VueScan x64 software. There is also some Lightroom editing applied by me.

This is a follow up to this post from the other day about the Gold Cup hydro plane races on Lake Washington sometime in the early to mid '50s. https://steemit.com/filmphotography/@oldmans/seattle-gold-cup-1950-s

I think my dad would have liked the fact that these have a chance to reach a wider audience. I know it was a labor of love for me to scan and restore all of his slides. I wish my parents were still here to talk about all of these. I can still remember setting up the slide projector and the screen on occasion to watch the family history scroll by. Too bad I can't remember all the oral history that was revealed. :)

Enjoy!

gc boats (1 of 7).jpg

gc boats (5 of 7).jpg

gc boats (6 of 7).jpg

gc boats (7 of 7).jpg

gc boats (2 of 7).jpg

gc boats (3 of 7).jpg

gc boats (4 of 7).jpg

Thanks for looking. :)

Sort:  

thanks for sharing these beautiful photos! i also scanned my parents slides back in 2002 and got a lot of enjoyment from it ...i will probably do it again with a better scanner...

Your welcome! It was a very good experience. Enjoyable and emotional at the same time. :)

I commend you on your herculean effort. I had a small Costco slide scanner back in that time frame and just could never bring myself to start the project. The ability to batch process and the software cleaning and restoration features made the job a lot easier.

Here are a couple shots: straight scan and with infrared cleaning and color restoration.

testing-0001.jpg

test.jpg

Still needed Adobe Lightroom enhancements on some shots but a lot came out just fine first try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72