Shooting medium format film (120 film) update/Progression!!

in #filmphotography5 years ago (edited)

Shooting 120 film


About 5 months ago I told you guys about my first time shooting medium format film on a Hasselblad 500cm, with the 6x6 film back. In the five months, I've been MIA on steemit, a lot more 120 film has been shot. So, I wanted to create a blog post talking about my progression and showing some of the pictures i took, using 120 film.

The modular Hasselblad system:

About 5 months ago, I shot with the Hasselblad for the first time ever! Loading the film was a hell for the first 2 rolls, but after that, it was pretty much smooth sailing. I really fell in love with the modularity of the Hasselblad system over the course of 5 months, even though I only used the camera with the 120mm lens and the 6x6 film back.

I already loved the slow pace that analogue photography caters itself to, but something about focusing through the waist level viewfinder is just wonderful and really spoke to me, I simply loved every second of it.

Focusing through the ground glass was..an experience to say the least. At first, it was a bit awkward and embarrassing how long it took me to get the image hair-sharp, but as time went on, it became second nature.

Film choice:

I exclusively shot B&W 120 film for the past 5 months, simply because I can develop my own B&W film. I can't let anyone but me touch my negatives, so when I started shooting film I said to myself that no matter what happens, I will always develop and scan my own film.

So, I shot a variety of different B&W films. In the course of five months, I've shot: Ilford Delta 100, Ilford HP5, Ilford FP4+, but ultimately settled with Kodak's T-Max 100.

I simply liked the outcome of the T-max images best. No grain, good contrast, and good latitude,... I've used the film almost exclusively with T-Max developer. At times where there wasn't any T-max left, Kodak D-67 did the trick (1+1 dilution.)

Images:

I've only used the Hasselblad in a studio setting. Here are some of my favorites from this semester. All shot on Kodak T-Max 100.

MEREL_75_001.jpg


ROBIN_75_002.png


FLOOR.png


You've reached the end of this post. Thanks for reading! if you have any questions, critique, anything at all, feel free to comment below :) I'll do my best to reply to each and every one​ of you :) Liked what you saw? Consider​ following me on Instagram

Sort:  

Hello @lennertdirkx, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98