Shooting Large Format (4x5inch)

in #filmphotography5 years ago (edited)

Shooting Large Format Film


I recently got the chance to play around with a Sinar F, a 4x5ich film camera. In this post, I will tell you a bit about the experience and show some of the pictures I took with this beast for my Non-Fiction class.

The Sinar F

The Sinar F is: heavy, overwhelming and awesome. You can literally do EVERYTHING with this thing. All the movements, right there. It's really cool to fine tune your image in many, many new ways. I find that the camera grew on me really quick. The "wtf am I doing" phase blew by quickly when I eventually touched every knob and dial on the camera and got the hang of what all of those did.

Focusing was something else, though. Not only is your image mirrored on the ground-glass, but it's also flipped upside down. Something you have to get used to, obviously. But just like all things in life, you adapt and learn to work with it.

I also liked that I could only shoot 4 images (2 photos per filmholder). It let me look around more and prioritize the shots I needed for the assignment at the time. I shot some FOMOPAN 400, just to test the camera with some "cheap" film. People hated on the film, but I never really experienced any problems with it. I had a light leak once, but that's obviously my bad.

Images

TC_STEEMIT2.png

Here you can see the light leak I mentioned earlier. Portrait of my dad, shot in a nature reserve near our house. April 2019.


TC_STEEMIT.png

A private​ dirt road, April 2019.


TC_STEEMIT3.png

Destroyed tree, May 2019.


You've reached the end of this post. Thanks for reading! if you have any questions, critique, anything at all, feel free to comment below :) I'll do my best to reply to each and every one​ of you :) Liked what you saw? Consider​ following me on Instagram

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87