FILMMAKER’S INTUITION

Also published on my Facebook filmmaker page

318805603_507448771449121_7274435747921096277_n.jpg

It’s what they can’t teach in film school, what has to be learned from years of working on set. The other day I was packing up to go help Brianna for a couple days of filming on her movie WRANGLE TOWN down in Sasabe. Though she had a boom operator booked for the shoot who had all of his own gear, I felt a strong desire to pack my own. As we woke early Sunday morning to drive out to location, I almost left my boom pole behind. “Why would I need it? Josh is coming,” I argued with myself. But the intuition won over and I grabbed it.

It was a good thing too because first Josh was running late and then he had a flat tire, getting him to location close to five hours after call time. Did we sit around and wait for him? No. I pulled out my gear and once again donned the boom operator role. We stayed on schedule and filmed until he could come in as a pinch hitter.

That’s how the game is played. Not from a book. Not from a four year degree. But from doing it over and over and over again, which gives you the instincts to be on the field.

Photograph of me by Joshua Lindstrom on the set of WRANGLE TOWN

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46