You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Second Short Film (2005) aka How to Not Make a Movie - Part 2

in #filmmaking6 years ago

A lot of filmmakers' careers have started out with a failed project. My class project at film school fell apart and never got made, hardly even started. It's really, really, really discouraging when it happens, but you're right, you need to get back up and start again.

This story sounds interesting. Maybe you'll still make it someday. :) But yeah, I know that we move on in our lives and going back to old projects isn't always the best way. There's always a part of me that feels like going back and remaking my student film the way I actually wanted to make it, before I had to chop it down to about 20% of what I had planned. But at this point it doesn't make sense to put my efforts in that direction when I have other ideas that I could be working on.

Speaking of which, I need to get back to filmmaking soon. :) I haven't made a film in more than half a year, so I'm itching to get back to it.

Sort:  

Even though this wasn't my first project I definitely get what you mean. Talking about discouragement, you're right, it's the people who - after falling down - keep getting up, again and again - and don't get discouraged, who get the farthest in life.

I don't see myself making this in the future. It was a learning experience. A project that wasn't meant to be made. The perfectionist in us tells us to go back to old stuff, but that usually isn't the best idea. So let's move on, learn from our past experiences and try and do things differently in the future.

If you feel the itch, perhaps it's indeed a sign to get active again on the filmmaking front.

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61265.70
ETH 3429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50