Adventure motorcycling through the Himalayas by Royal Enfield

in #filmmaker7 years ago (edited)

The highlights of my motorcycle ride from Varanasi to Kashmir and back to Delhi on a Royal Enfield Thunderbird 350.

![Motorcycle Video(

)

In June of 2016 I travelled from UK with the intention of buying a motorcycle in India primarily to ride the Manali to Leh highway. I had always wanted to see Varanasi so that was the first destination followed by the flight to Delhi to go motorcycle shopping in the Karol Bagh area. I had originally had my mind set on a Hero Impulse until I rode the Thunderbird, I handed the cash over straight away after trying it out.

After a few days of getting the bike ready in Delhi I headed for Rishikesh, another place I had wanted to visit for a while. I could have spent weeks here but there were plenty more places to visit so it was on to Shimla after that. I found Shimla to be very similar to Darjeeling and relatively expensive for India.
For anyone riding from Shimla to Manali I recommend taking the road the leaves Shimla to the east, the Jalori Pass is brilliant.

The more extreme riding started north of Manali with the Rohtang Pass. You need a permit going north and it was ridiculously busy with traffic on the day I went. My first puncture happened as I was on the way down, two nails in the tyre caused me to take an early stopover at the Triveni Guest House in Sissu.

A full day's ride got me to Sarchu, I could have pushed on to Pang but I was tired from riding 10 hours that day. I got the effects of altitude sickness that night. The next day was the most impressive, every pass I rode over produced a completely different landscape each time. That morning started with the Gata Loops with the highlight being the Morei Plains before getting into Leh.

A few days in Leh / Nubra Valley followed by a ride east towards Kashmir. The scenery was less changeable but equally as stunning. The culture and the personalities of the people changed as soon as I got over the Zoji La Pass.
The Zoji La pass is featured in the video as the stretch of road that looks the most dangerous.

Gorakpur – Varanasi – Delhi – Rishikesh – Shimla – Manali – Leh – Kargil – Srinigar – Jammu – Dharamshala – Amristsar - Delhi

Sort:  

Congratulations @zoji! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49