Let's Have Some Fun Though, Vincent - Friday Surfing Video 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #filmmaker7 years ago

'I would rather die of passion than of boredom.' - Vincent van Gogh

Me, too, Vincent! 

Here's how I killed boredom today.

Everything Happens For A Reason

That's my today's conclusion.

When I arrived at the beach at noon I realized that I had forgotten part of my GoPro equipment at home. It meant that I was unable to install the camera directly on the board. First I considered driving back home in order to do the session with the complete set-up. 

But then I looked at the waves that were coming in and decided to stay. 

I did the whole session holding the GoPro in my hand, praying not to drop it accidentally!

Everything went well. 

Lucky me I took some really nice underwater shots while paddling with the camera in my hand. Probably I wouldn't have shot these in regular circumstances. 

Everything happens for a reason though. 

I hope you guys are going to enjoy my little experiment.

There are still a lot of steps to learn both regarding the camera and the video editing software. I've done the complete post-production with GoPro Studio which I highly recommend by the way.

And.... action! "Surfing Famara" - 2:20 minutes video. Enjoy!

Moral of that story: Never underestimate the power of a nice slow motion :-)

I hope you like what you've seen. 

Any suggestions, recommendations, ideas, opinions are more than welcome. I am totally falling for that new hobby and will probably don't do anything but surfing and shooting videos the next time. 

'Chase down your passion like it's the last bus of the night.' - Terri Guillemets.

Well I hope you won't lose that bus then :-)
Happy weekend,
Marly - 


PS: That's how I look like when I fear losing my camera insight the wave :D

All pictures and video taken by myself with a GoPro Hero 5 (original content). 

Sort:  

I loved this! It really gives a great sense of what it is like to be surfing and its very artistic. What were you saying at 1:55? I listened a few times but couldn't make it out. Thanks for making and sharing this!

Haha, I couldn't understand it either. It's: "That's a happy after surfing face." :)
I was trying to get the noises from the wind out of it, but couldn't make it.
Next time I will improve on the voices!
Thanks for your nice feedback, I am really happy you enjoyed it.

Marly! FANTASTIC film!

I loved every minute of it! (both of them. ;)

Beautifully edited, well done, girl!

Now I am just plain jealous. I want to be there surfing alongside you.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Ooooooh, thank you so much my friend! It means a world to hear that from you (the surfing PRO!!!) :)

To be honest, the best waves are not in the video since it was quite hard to paddle and jump on the board with only one arm :D Next time I will bring the whole equipment and install it on the board. Then we will see the whole story :)

Have a great weekend!

I can't wait to see more! :) :) :)

Oh, and I'm no surfing PRO, but I try to make up for it with my love and enthusiasm for the sport! :) :) :)

Steem and surf on, dear! Hugs! :)

Love is all we need 😍

Very nice! Thanks for sharing. I wish I could be there with you. It seems to be difficult to film your movements from that perspective.

Thank you!
Oh yeah it is. The most difficult part is to paddle and get up on your feet with the help of only one arm 🙈
The next time I'll bring my whole stuff and install the cam on the board. Then my hands are free for what they need to do actually 😉

One beautiful day + your passion activity + GoPro Hero 5 = Amazing post!!
Fabulous Marly, simply fabulous!! Looking forward to the next!!

Thank youuuu!
Yeah that's my favorite formula actually hehe 😄👍🐠☀️

What a rush! Upvoted and mentioned in my last post. Cheers!

Oh wow thank you!!! That's a really nice move 😌👏👏👏
Have a pleasant weekend!!!

Epic slow motion there @surfermarly. Looks like you're really getting the hang of this GoPro thing :)

Hehe, thank you! Yeah, I am totally in love with that piece of tech :)

Your welcome! It even works great if you forget half of the setup at home :)

Well I didn't expect to solve it like that actually. Maybe it got even better thanks to plan B 😉

You've already discovered that just going with the flow can actually make for better and more natural footage, don't overthink it Marly, keep your mind on the surfing and enjoying the water, the awesome video will just happen and it looks great so far :)

Ich bin eigentlich auf Votingdiät aber toll was da geht und deswegen ein upvote+ resteem :-)

Oh, dann fühle ich mich aber besonders geehrt! Vielen lieben Dank Jochen :)
Macht alles einfach brutal Spaß :)

I recommend those fuzzy mike extensions to cut down on wind and other environmental sounds when doing voice. Especially outdoors! Great video!

Yeah, you are absolutely right! I have to improve on that one.
Thanks for the suggestion, it's highly appreciated :)

That's awesome!

Thank you so muuuuuch! :))

hast du dich wegen der Werbung mit GoPro einigen können...lol***

LOL - wenn sie mir nach dem nächsten Video keinen Vertrag anbieten, weiß ich ja auch nicht...:-D Haha!

soll ich mal mit den reden....haha****

Ja bitte!!! 🙏 Haha

hihi....alte Seilschaften.... aus Zeiten der Praktika Kameras.... Made in GDR****

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56