Blue Skies Smiling At Me: Shooting My Video For Steemfest2 Under Best Condidtions [1st Pics From The Set 📷]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #filmmaker7 years ago
You are the sky. Everything else is just the weather. - Pema Chodron

Today I really have the sensation that I'm part of the sky.

After a long period of African winds which brought a lot of sand through the air and made filming almost impossible, now Canary Islands look like fake postcards again.

It's as Frank Sinatra sang in 'Blue Skies':

Never saw the sun shinin' so bright. Never saw things lookin' so right.

Finally I started to shoot the video for my Steemfest2 presentation.

It's gonna be bluuuuue!

@surfermarly on set

Action, please! 🎬

Not surprisingly Canary Islands became the set of many international film productions in the past years.

The ideal and stable weather conditions during the whole year as well as relatively cheap locations provide a perfect scenario for filmmakers.

So last year you could easily run into Brad Pitt and Marion Cotillard (shooting 'Allied') on the island of Gran Canaria or Matt Damon (shooting 'Bourne') on the island of Tenerife.

Ah and currently you might run into @surfermarly (shooting 'Dreams of the Ocean') on the island of Lanzarote - haha!

Compared to these international blockbusters my set is relatively simple.

While direction, camera, production and post-production will be executed by myself, I was able to hire some really talented supporting actors. If things work like they're supposed to do, then the D-Day (when I have them all 'on set') will be the 21st of October.

Then there will be still one week to finish the video before departing to Portugal. I'm crossing my fingers for that time schedule.

The leading part however will be performed by the blue sky.

Almost 30% of the video have been shooted and edited so far.

As I mentioned before, the most difficult part is still to come and I pray for another awesome summery day in October.

I'm far away from being a professional videomaker, but during the past months I've learned a lot about setting, scenery, light and perspective. During my career at the University I actually learned how to concept, shoot and edit videos. A couple of years have passed since then, yet my memory got refreshed again thanks to this new challenge.

One of the most important points to me is being well prepared when starting to film. The more precise the idea in my head, the better the final results.

That's why I spent the past two weeks drawing storyboards at home.

My house has been converted into a little movie factory.

Today I wanna share the first images with you. Of course, I can't reveal the story before Steemfest2, but like that you're able to get at least an idea of the look & feel.

Have a great weekend steemians - hopefully under a blue sky! 💙

Marly -

Today's album from the set 📷

Pre-production.

Checking the perspective.

Talking to the camera.

Cleaning my teeth.

Checking the water temperature.

Making some bubbles.


Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide interesting stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

PS: Don't forget to visit my new site surfermarly.com

Original content. Quote found on pinterest.com.

Sort:  

Hello Hello Cutie! I am amazed to follow your adventures. I tried surfing back in Bali together with my daughter but while she was on top of the board in a few hours, I did find myself more under the water :)

Thank you so much sweetie! The other day I opened my very first article published on steemit and guess who was the first person in commenting it? YOU!!! :-)

Haha, being underwater is part of the game - I usually drink 1 liter of salty water during one session!!! :-D

Are you serious? It's been a long time and happy to see you became a little superstar here 💓 See you in Lisbon for a big hug

Yip, totally serious - haha! See you there for BIG HUG!!!

Looking very forward to seeing your finished video in Lisbon, however I am more excited to see you. My 30 day countdown has begun!!

30 days OMG - that's really nothing! Thanks for the pressure, haha :-)
I'm super excited to meet you all there, too!!! It's gonna be so much fun!
Enjoy your weekend @gringalicious :-)

they also did part of "wrath of the Titans" and "moby dick" in lanzarote, close to los hervideros and el golfo if i am not mistaken...

and I when I see your posts I cannot not watch but when I do I really get the urge to drop everything and jump on a plane direction Lanza to catch some good sets of waves

Correct! Moby Dick was shot at my favourite beach here on Lanzarote: Papagayo Beach.
Furthermore, most parts of 'The Fast and the Furious' were filmed on Tenerife. I also think Tom Cruise did something in the past or was at least considering it. Anyways, a lot of noise over here :-)

I can totally relate. Now the best month of surfing is knocking on the door: October! September was still pretty summery (too much Calima), but now the coast looks like it should: blue skies, sharp and clear line between sky and Ocean and nice swells. Sorry for making you jealous now :-))

you are forgiven, I have a month of holiday in New Zealand in december to make up for it, so I guess I will manage
you just work on an amazing movie and amaze them all in Lisbon
(althoug if I was you I would take a few days extra and grab a board to hit all the amazing surfspots down the coast and fly back from Faro, the beaches and the surf are definately worth it and the scenery is amazing, just a suggestion)

Oh wow - one month in New Zealand sounds epic!
I will need to come back to Portugal for surfing though. In November it'll be impossible to me since high season in our business starts and they need me at home :-)
But thanks for the hint anyways.

I love the make up... Oh right it's Sun Block! ;-)
It gives you a little Indian (native american) vibe! lol

Great work Marly, you sure as hell don't do half work... Steemfest will have to make you top of the bill!

Hehe, thank you! I like the Indian look a lot. Maybe I should go on stage like that...? :-)
I'm German, so doing half work is impossible to me, haha!
Thanks for your encouraging words. Wish you a great weekend!!!

Ooh German hé! I won't mention the war then! :-) hehe just kidding!

I was born in 1981. If you say the word war it doesn't trigger anything :-) So no worries, hehe. Every country has their history.

Lol, I am from 1981 As well! It just made think about Fawlty Towers... have a good weekend

By the way, lots of Belgians collaborated with the Germans, so I better shut my mouth about that! ;-)

Nice weather to catch a wave! You ever surfed the Eisbach in Munich? I used to love seeing these guys tear it up when I was living in city!

Hey @sroka87! I was living in Munich for 10 years but that was before my surfing passion started to evolve :-) So I haven't ever tried it. Plus: the entry is quite tricky. That is something I would have to learn first. I'm used to paddle and then jump on the board - but here it's completely different.
Thanks for the mention - and the link (nice article, you got my upvote)! :-)

Munich is such a great place - something for everyone!

It does look like a difficult place to surf - I was always impressed by the guys & gals who could just drop in and find some smooth lines!

Thanks for stopping by!

I remember guys surfing the standing wave in the river near Thalkirchen camp site when I was at Oktoberfest in 1993, is that the same place?

There are several spots along the river. I think this one is close to the museum "Haus der Kunst", but I'm not sure.

Ich bin schon gehr gespannt auf deinen Beitrag! Man wird ihn doch hoffentlich auch im Netz finden, oder? Weiterhin gutes Gelingen.
Upvote auch manuell, denn der dumme Steemvoter streikt manchmal, wie wir alle wissen.

Ich wusste das mit dem Voter noch gar nicht :-( Na, nun passe ich auf!

Es wird sogar einen Live-Stream von der Konferenz geben, man wird also alles in "Echtzeit" mitverfolgen können :-) Zudem wird es sicherlich auch wieder wie im letzten Jahr Videos "on demand" zu den Präsentationen geben.

Noch ein Monat... tick tack... Mein Herz schlägt bis zum Hals!!! Haha

I visited your website and watched the video you and your friend, Drew made. I loved loved the song. His is the kind of music I listen to, I like his voice. The message from the song with you, your surfboard and the water was uplifting and happy. Really, really good job.

I too love a blue sky. Nothing compares to the vibrant color, except the green blue of the ocean you are surrounded by. Beautiful island.

Happy weekend.!

Oh thank you so much for the nice compliment!!! You you will LOVE the video I'm going to show at Steemfest then!
Drew provided me with another song that is simply magical, so the new clip will definitely be one of my best so far. Stay tuned!!! If you cannot come to Steemfest, there will be a live-streaming from the conference :-)

Happy weekend for your as well!

I look forward to seeing it. I won't be attending Steemfest, no. I'll probably peek in at the live stream.

Friendly suggestion: Put a link in the comment.

A link to what, I'm not sure. If you are referring to @surfermarly 's website the link is listed in her post.

Loading...

Now I'm more blue I can't be at STEEMfest2 😭 But I look forward to seeing all the posts of everyone having fun. Steemon 🏄‍♀️🤙🏻

Hehe, AND you can watch the live-stream then and be there with us virtually :-)
Happy weekend, Stephen!

Every time I see your posts it takes me back 20 years to when I had the balance and ability to stand on a board.
My days are now spent in the shallows surrounded by my 6 little minnows.
Would love to get back into the ocean, under the beautiful blue sky, might have to start back on knee board...baby steps I think.

6 minnows, wow! Congratulations :-)) Then it's obvious that you can't be in the water every day now...
But surfing is like driving a bike - you'd be back on your older level soon!

Enjoy your weekend!

nice. catch any good wave?

Yip, a lot of them :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62877.62
ETH 3140.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89