Filmmaker's Diary ( When the System Crashes)

in #filmmaker7 years ago

So here we are once again…

(Yesterday’s post for more context : https://steemit.com/filmmaker/@maxjoy/filmmaker-s-diary-june-2017 )

As I’ve mentioned this music video in particular has had the most exhaustive post production period I’ve ever had. As the saying goes, nothing is ever so bad that it can not get worse. Yesterday it was a clear demonstration of such a sentence.

After I posted the article yesterday I went and started editing again, in order to finish the video a week from now. I have my list of 20 points I want to get done by the end of the day… I’m motivated… and I start working.

I’ve spent around 7 hours polishing a 4 second clip. No problem… it’s what it is, I don’t mind putting in the work. Even if I’ve lost enthusiasm for this project and even if every single step becomes a problem.

However by the end of the 7 hours I was no way done with it. Had only polished 2 seconds of it and not to perfection.

So I take a break… smoke a cigarette and take a deep breath.

I continue editing, for some reason “the mask” (the feature I was using) on After Effects stoped working… suddenly I could not animate it, nor see it properly…

So I take a break… smoke a cigarette and take a deep breath.

After some time struggling I open another After Effects composition…. And it all collapsed... it crashed.

Got error messages saying god knows what… and rather shortly after After Fx just crashed. When this happened all of the After Fx sequences became unavailable in Premiere. Let me remind you this particular clip is full of effects and most of it is in AFX.

So I take a break… smoke a cigarette, take a deep breath and watch “Better call Saul” season finale.

Just cold not deal with it that day.

Good news! Today it all seems to be working and other than all the work I’ve done yesterday , everything is there.

So I’ve been editing today… now every 10 second render I make, takes about one hour… but it’s ok. Moving forward.

Now I’ve promised my girlfriend I would go with her to an Art exhibit opening… It’s fine and all, but I really want/ need to edit to recoup lost time and so on… and it will take forever to get there, it’s also incredibly hot…

But well, I guess it will be nice and I guess it will make her happy… and I said I would go.

So my plan now is to go, try not to drink wine at all, get out of there as soon as I can, come back and maybe have an all nighter of editing.

Let’s see what happens.

Also now I know what to do. I will no longer go for the extra stop motion chorus. I will send my friend the video and tell him this is it.

Unless he tells me he will release it in 3/4 months I will leave it with the simpler chorus version and move on to new projects.

As always, thank you for reading and have a nice day!

All Images, except Logo, from: Pixabay

Sort:  

I don't know much about what it is like for a filmmaker but it seems like some tough work.
Do you love it though?

Like the song goes "You gotta love it or leave it alone" hehehe.

Yeah, I do love it, been working on this music video for a year and a half and I'm doing it for free... gotta love.

Thanks for your comment.

Hahaha maan. Even though it's sad, i don't know why it's so funny!))
I'm sorry.
I know what you'r talking about.. especially about crashes.. i feel your pain.
Brace yourself and go to the end with your man power :D
It's the only way.

Yeah, I know! I guess it's kinda funny, hopefully I will only laugh in the future heheh

Yeah, it will be done in 4 days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79