You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Get a Film School Education for Free - Part One - The Top 7 Free Online Resources for Learning Filmmaking

in #film7 years ago (edited)

I like that you call it a top 7 but they're all number 1. It's all about equality these days ;)

I didn't go to film school, I studied film in University. I often regretted not having gone to film school, because I hardly made films when I was (still) studying film. It took me a lot of effort to actually start making films and I didn't have any connections in the industry. I later regretted going to University for seven years.

Now I stopped regretting things but looking at the positives.

I would probably argue the same (more or less):

You don't need to 'study' film to become a filmmaker, at least not necessarily in University or in film school. Practical, hands on experience is very much needed though. And, no matter how much books you read about filmmaking or how many movies you analyze or filmmaking tutorials you watch, the best way to become a better filmmaker is by starting to actually make movies.

Keep up the good work! I got your back ;)

Sort:  

That is so true! I totally agree with you that the best way to actually learn filmmaking is by making films. However I gotta say that even in film school, there was way too much emphasis on getting the process and the paperwork right that, though I did get to participate in student projects, I really still felt totally unprepared to be a filmmaker. A lot of what I feel I missed learning in film school I've learned from books and online, and of course by jumping into filmmaking myself. :)

I see what you mean. I guess it's always about some kind of mix of all these ingredients. Let's just say that I got this tendency to study stuff for too long a time before I jump in. I'm working hard to get better in jumping in a little earlier ;)

Yeah, I find it easier to study than to actually "do" as well. :) By the way, can I see any of your work? I'd love to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52