🎬📽 The Best Movies I've seen in the week (09.04.18-15.04.18)"movies from different years" 🎥🎞

in #film6 years ago

fear-and-loathing-in-las-vegas-1200-1200-675-675-crop-000000.jpg

image source

Hello again dear friends and steemians, slowly slowly I get to be up to date with this kind of post and I take from my free time to share with you the best movies that i've seen lately and I hope that this short list will help you to find something interesting.
The minimum rating being 8 which means the movie is very good, the rating 9 signifies that is a must see movie and the rating 10 I offer to the movies which I consider masterpieces.
Let's start this new journey with the best movies of the week 09.04.18-15.04.18 and their order will be from the first seen to the last.

The List

1. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (1998) - my rating 9/10
Movie genres: Adventure, Comedy, Drama


large_xgjkAMMkvFFgfyFS1yEqbKNOysN.jpg

image source

I have avoided this movie for a few years and i looked at reviews which were many negative ones, but one person I know he recommended this movie 5 years ago and he said that the movie is one of the best comedies ever made and I put it in the watchlist and only now I decided to watch it.
The movie is directed by Terry Gilliam which is known by the fact that he make strange movies and Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is not an exception.
The cast was very good containing names like Johnny Depp, Benicio Del Toro, Tobey Maguire, Christina Ricci and Cameron Diaz too for a short moment.
The movie start with Raoul Duke and Dr. Gonzo speed across the Nevada desert in the year 1971 and they are under the influence of drugs all the time which makes this movie a very funny one because there are many situations that make you laugh even if there are some strange moments too.
I can not guarantee that all of you will like this trip movie but it's worth a try.

2. The Color of Pomegranates (1969) aka Sayat Nova - my rating 9/10
Movie genres: Biography, Drama, History


unnamed.jpg

image source

I would like to say that this film is an artistic one and the dialogue does not appear only in a few moments and is more monologue and images which convey the idea of the film.
The Color of Pomegranates is a biography of the Armenian singer Sayat-Nova that attempts to reveal the poet's life from birth to death visually and poetically rather than literally and does this in an exceptional style using religion and the armenian culture.
Is a very unknown film but a special one and it takes only 1 hour and 19 minutes but the fact that it focuses very much on images it will make many think that is boring but I tell you to give it a try especially if you want to see something unique and artistic.

3. Perfect Strangers (2016) aka Perfetti sconosciuti - my rating 8/10
Movie genres: Comedy, Drama


aadf9d8df6818cbf5ff8f4e341d67a72--perfect-strangers--movies.jpg

image source

Is an Italian production whose action takes place more in one space, more exactly in a apartment were 7 long- time friends are having a dinner and they decide to play a game where to put each one's mobile phone on the table and reveal every text message or phone call they would receive that evening but things get complicated and the wrangles start to appear.
I loved it very much and reminded me of the French comedy What's in a Name? (2012) aka Le prénom with which it resembles and it's a movie that will please you and it's a relaxing one which is worth seeing anytime.

4. You Were Never Really Here (2017) - my rating 9/10
Movie genres: Drama, Mystery, Thriller


you-were-never-really-here-affiche-ENG.jpg

image source

Is a very polarized film which was recommended by a movie fun who saw a lot of movies, even more than me and he told me that is similar to Taxi Driver and I can say that it's a resemblance.
The movie is directed by Lynne Ramsay who made movies like Ratcatcher (1999), Morvern Callar (2002), and her most famous film which is We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011) which I saw and I liked.
The movie is about Joe a combat veteran and former FBI agent with post-traumatic stress disorder is hired to rescue trafficked girls which are very young.
Many people have complained about this movie saying that it's boring and I realised that the beginning is slower, but the director has attempted to present the main character to get used to his internal confrontations and his personality.
I can say that it's a psychological thriller which will not be pleasant to everyone and is the kind of film which you either love or hate and also Joaquin Phoenix makes an exceptional interpretation.

If you like my posts just FOLLOW ME @themovieplace, Upvote and Resteem my post.

If you like movies or tv shows you can join our community movies_and_tv_shows on https://discordapp.com/channels/334051103341543426/334051103341543426 and you can contact me for an invitation on https://discordapp.com where i have the username themovieplace or on https://steemit.chat/direct/themovieplace

Sort:  

Good list :) I enjoyed immensely Fear and Loathing when I saw it when it was released... I wonder now if i would still like it :) As for "You Were Never Really Here", it kinda disappointed me when i saw it last year... I just didn't see the point of it all.. And it's funny that you mention "Sayat Nova", because that's one of the rare films I never finished, because it's indeed gorgeous and fascinating but... its very difficult to focus,it's like a long visual poem where the story is optional... But I'm going to finish it one day :)

Thanks for appreciation @herverisson. I really liked You Were Never Really Here because you get to know the character better and is a strange psihological thriller which shows the suffering of the character. Is not an action movie as shown in the trailer and many were expecting something else. I will try to continue the list of movies that I liked from the week 16.04.18-22.04.18 which I hope that will be done in the next days.

Very excellent reviews. I may have to go back and check out a few of those when I get time.


I have curated your post as part of the @buildawhale Curation Team and your post has been mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-05-07-18


Want to Curate? We Are looking for people with great writing abilities that would also want to help us find and curate good pieces of original content. Curators will receive SBD for their share of work. Let us know in our #curator-application channel on Discord if you are interested.

NP, Glad you liked my review of your reviews. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67