World's First English Language Motion Picture by English Students

in #film7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit Family. I'm requesting your support of my film work by viewing my progressive, independent movie '3 Tasks,' which was made on a super-low budget of around $2,000 in about a year and a half.

I moved from the US to China over four years ago and have been living abroad since then. I've focused on several things, including teaching English, writing stories, poems, and scripts, traveling, making international friends, doing my best to make my Lamborghini childhood dream a reality, and so on. However, this entire time, I keep working on my mail goal: being a full-time filmmaker.

vlcsnap-2017-05-30-16h12m06s098.png
I shot a short film titled "Epoc" in Guangzhou, China, back in 2014--my first ever international film. It's heavily symbolic and visually tells the story of how our inner child could still be damaged and carrying around issues that are affecting our relationships in adulthood. This film--3 Tasks--is a different animal altogether and represents a first for not just me but for cinema worldwide. It hasn't yet garnered the kind of support it truly deserves, so I'm asking you--my new Steemit family--to get behind it by viewing, commenting, and sharing!

3-tasks-flashback.jpg
Using only Chinese students of varying levels of English proficiency and age, I trained them to do something that none of them had ever done before: make a film. I taught them how to do lighting, cameras, audio, planning, location scouting--even catering for the cast and crew! Since all of my team worked or attended school, we were limited to shooting on Sundays and it took almost a year and a half to complete. Upon completion, we were able to rent a local theater for a one-night showing and had a turnout of over 200 people. Nothing feels greater than having your team's work up on the big screen for the first time.

bruised.jpg
This is the first full-length motion picture in the world that used non-native English speakers to produce a fully-English film. Further, it is the first complete English feature film to ever be produced inside China. When we first began making it, the students didn't take it very seriously because they thought it was just a fun project for us to do, laugh about, and then move on. However, the experience for all of us turned into something beyond memorable--it was deeply touching and inspirational on many levels. My hope is that it will reach out inspire you, as well.

vlcsnap-2017-05-30-16h13m08s872.png

Thank you so much for reading my post and supporting me by viewing the film, as well as sharing it. I accept that this isn't a "professional" work and will be viewed oddly by people who don't understand what it is--English language students putting aside their nervousness and fear of speaking another language by going out and doing the seemingly impossible: make a full-length movie!

Thank you for your support, fellow Steemers, I truly appreciate you and am most grateful.

-Brandon

Sort:  

Nice, I hope Steemians will support ur project.

Thanks so much--it's not so easy to garner social attention and support, it seems!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48