You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Michael's Horror Lase-O-Rama: The Bird With the Crystal Plumage (1998, ROAN Group)

in #film5 years ago

I find Argento's movie a bit too out there, thought Tenebrae was OK. A lot of his work was unavailable OR to cut to ribbons when I was watching 4th hand copies on VHS which surely didn't help. I hate cut movies.

Sort:  

A lot of Argento's stuff is waaaaaay out there, but I'm happy to report this isn't one of them. It's really a noir film about a guy who is already out of place finding himself in decidedly the wrong place. Argento does some phenomenal things with the camera though, including a vertigo-inducing shot looking up the middle of a multi-floor staircase. Even if you dislike Argento's weird work, Bird is a rare exception to the rule, and has been available uncut for years (though the initial cut of the work only trimmed about 20 seconds of footage total, so you weren't missing much). :)

I never gave it a chance and just presumed it was another of his weird movies, thanks for the info.

I like most of Argento's 1970s and 1980s work, whether it's out there or not. I am about to send you a list of interesting Gialli. Keep an eye on your comment section ;>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56299.59
ETH 2984.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22