You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bad Day at Black Rock (1955)

in #film6 years ago

I just watched this for the first time a few months ago after seeing it on the 1001 Movies to See Before You Die list. I have been singing its praises to everybody! Lee Marvin and Ernest Borgnine are perfect in trying to agitate a calm Spenser Tracy. I do weekly movie night at my house and I think I might show this soon. Thanks for writing about this here.

Sort:  

It's a chilling film for sure, yet so very very deeply warm and human but with no cheap pathos nor any sentimentality whatsoever. "Raw" is a good way of describing it, no lose ends, no extra parts - just human. You can feel that Spencer Tracy really poured his soul into the role... the ending doesn't fail to give me a shiver every time I watch it. And the theme is... strikingly fresh for our times (or any times...) So glad new people are still discovering it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43