What's your take on Tonya Harding?

in #film7 years ago

So a group of friends and I all went to go see the movie I, Tonya, last night and it was really interesting.

I was pretty young when she was in the spotlight, like pre-teen or younger, but old enough, I guess to talk about whether or not to be Team Tonya, which I was. When I first told my gf that she seemed appalled. "But didn't she club that other woman?" But then we got into the story a little deeper and while clearly Tonya was young and dumb and had a lot of faults, even as an adult I have a lot of sympathy for her and I think this film really did her story justice. It didn't give her a free pass, but it did explain her circumstances well.

Anyway, I just thought it was really well done and we talked about it a lot after. My friend told me about this recent New York Times interview with Tonya, which I went home right away. It, like the movie, is nuanced, but I also thought a tiny bit condescending at times and a little overwrought. But it also was a pretty fair portrayal. It also produced one of the best interview quotes I've ever read. When asked by Harding moved from Portland to nearby Vancouver, Washington (my hometown) she says, "Oregon was buttheads." Of course I had to meme it.

So no matter your thoughts on Tonya, Nancy, any of their associates or the way the US Figure Skating Association was in the 1990s or today it presents some really good talking points on class, domestic violence, nature vs nurture and so much more so I'm really interested in what people have to say. I'd love for a discussion to start. If you need inspiration another really good Tonya article to check out is at my favorite (well kinda the only one left) queer women's website Autostraddle. They always have insightful discussion there that could help us get started

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Lol i feel so conflicted! You rep teamgirlpowa and yet you madd a meme of my home state booooo lololo jk. Thats funny as hell. I need to watch that.

I'm an Oregonian too! I have lived here since I was a little kid and am writing this from my bed in North Portland. Tonya saying, with questionable grammar, that Oregon is a state full of buttheads didn't make me feel bad. It's kind of ridiculous, even though I see why she would say that. It's even funnier, especially to me, because she didn't even move away really. Vancouver is still part of the Portland metro area even if it is technically in another state. I grew up there and Vancouver is definitely buttheads too...

Lol i know im jus playin!!! Its deffo helarious!!! The irony.

Haha, I hope that's a good wow!

I've not seen the film yet, but my view of her is less positive than yours. The Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast had an episode about the film, where they also discussed the recent Tonya Harding documentary, "The Price Of Gold," in which Kerrigan was a larger part of the narrative. The discussion there made it sound like the film valorizes Harding.

I need to see that. I think that was the documentary that was also recommended to me but I feel like there might be another too. I'll have to look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54