ALIEN COVENANT ///////// FILM REVIEW & TECHNICAL ANALYSIS - WHY SHOULD WE WATCH IT IN CINEMA?

in #film7 years ago (edited)

alien-covenant.jpg

When it comes to Ridley Scott films I love to have my eyes and attention on his full frame in all of its glory...

Last night I went to the cinema to see newest Alien, as my collegue told me I have pretty same details in beginning scenes with the David like in movie I'm writing whole year now. And poof there it was even the statue of Michelangelo. I couldn't believe my eyes. I have to change and rewrite all the intro scene with my AI as well. And this is not the first it's happening with various directors I appreciate, to make same scenes at same time. I call it wonder of living in probably well wifi world.

Movie is spectacular, a lot of kindest details attention is put inside, however the cinema was empty. Movies like this should be seen in cinema, not over computer, tv screen or even worse online or Kodi. I really loved the screening resolution and magnificent pure 7.1 dolby surround! You cant have that at home especially in that scale! So it is really worth to go to cinema and to experience that with your senses.

I always loved the way Ridley Scott creates, he is not just a filmmaker but true artist. However, still, nothing can beat his Blade Runner and Martian, especially Blade Runner. I am bit cautious to see the new up coming. I hope I won't have expectations.

So, first thing that is interested in here is this.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.44.48.png

They spent 97MM and returned 45MM only in USA. Numbers says for them self, this is not what Ridley Scott is capable of.
Especially if we look at his last movie success Martian who doubled the income.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 12.55.40.png

And yet! Alien is ranked on Imdb the number one searched movie starting with the release day (orange dot on chart)!

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 12.58.32.png

Everyone are searching for Alien and checking trailers, but would rather watch from home a movie like this. Something is not right there. This means either we have poor audience and poor world who don't have 10$ for ticket, even less, or we have lazy audience or ignorant who don't know anything about movie making.

How can someone enjoy such audio visual poetry on a pixelated screen in such a small resolution, usually AAC for sound and 720 for image. My eyes want to cry just for typing this.
I have professional monitors yet they can't reproduce something that is compressed. Think about it next time you wan't to see movie like this. I won't even talk about respect to the industry and art. If you would show such respect, did it ever occur you that movies be even better.

Your computer couldn't even run this format.
Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.09.40.png

So think twice, why should we go to cinema and support at least real cinematography.

Alien Covenant seems at me like a mixture of ALIEN and Prometheus, which in the end it was. When we look at the gross of those two movies we see that Prometheus reached almost the pay off, but Alien was quite successful profit. Someone obviously made a math of these two and said that the franchise would worth the effort.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.13.28.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.11.41.png

Yes, films are not just fun and art, they are like it or not, profit too. And that is what is most important. No producer would like to invest in movie if there is no profit, except when it is about remarkable author who could make worth in another sense.

What actually AMUSED me and I mean really AMUSED me is the endless list of the visual effects department. I will post just part of it, it goes on and on. Something you probably don't pay much attention in the end of the movie, and because it is annoying typo in motion, often small or we are still drawn in impression of a movie.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.20.26.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.21.01.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.21.20.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.21.36.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.22.03.png
Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.22.18.png

Believe me this list goes on and on. But it is nice to see what effort someone put in a picture, in not just every frame, but every freaking PIXELL. I can't even describe you how compact team you should be and dedicated, top of the tops to be in this list.
This army of artist draw every single detail for your eyes to enjoy, they spent all their life to get there, they spent year in a studio working day and night, yet you would miss it all if you just don't watch it in cinema.

And here are the filming locations.
Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 13.30.23.png

For smallest example here is comparison of just two trailer pictures, which are both compressed.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 14.12.48.png

This is KODI or what you usually watch at home compression. Blurry, pixelated, right? WHerre any detail is simply swallowed.

And this is compression for internet trailer which is small but yet detailed.

Screen Shot 2017-05-26 at 14.15.36.png

Both are screenshots from my Retina monitor.

Now imagine the cinema format.

I could go on and on, about this in any department you wish me to analyse, but this post already become to long.

Just go to the cinema, don't fucking just google it ;)
Be a man, not a chicken!

All data is from ImdbPRO where I took SS for you, as I am member and this is my profession :)

Thank you for reading the post (if any), lol.

Have a nice day!
Omarrium

Sort:  

Totally needs a theatrical experience! I can't believe it's not doing better in terms of bottom line!

Exactly! I am shocked to see this, I check this data for every author or film I am interested in, as I know what will be filmed in ten years from now who is writing what. I can't believe people are not going to cinema to see this. They will have no second opportunity, everyone seems to waiting free pixelated versions or even worse video shooting on the cinema!

I really enjoyed the movie in theater. It was so spectacular. @omarrium

Yes it was visual symphony! I'm glad there is people like you! And even more to meet. Are you filmmaker too?

I'm not a filmmaker. I'm just a person who really like a film. @omarrium ;)

Is the film really gorey? I can stand too much gore and guts.

yes it is, and very pittoresque.

Ah man! prometheus had the right amount of gore and action that film was superb!! But at certain point gore starts taking away from the film for me personally. I don't know it doesn't heighten my viewing pleasure when it is too much.

But Zombie films!! Man they can be as gorey as you like. I don't mind a super gorey zombie film.

I also don' like too Gory film. I sometimes close my eyes when it is too hard to see. :) I don't think this movie is just gory. Enjoy a message and other active scenes. :) @williebeaman

I really want to trust what your saying buddy. The trailer feels like the film is an absolute gore-fest aliens exploding out of everyone's chest. I just really want to see what the architects do and what role they play in the film. I could really care too much about the aliens.

but it suits this film, i don't think you would mind that or it would be too much if you just go and see it. It is definitely worthy experience. in my opinion matter of contemporary culture. for me zobie is more yuck, i can't stand that shit. I'm also hyper sensitive on violence and gorey and I didn't mind alien.

with that being said you have won my vote of confidence. I will commit to seeing this film and I shall report back .

thank you and good day sir Much appreciated

I would love that! Have a lovely day sir!

Thank you for your review.
While I agree movies like this are certainly best in a theater, don't sell Kodi short. Kodi on a PC(not firestick) with a robust graphics & sound card + 1080p movie stream + a high quality receiver/amp connected to 8 channels of surround sound speakers + 85 inch TV = A Great Home Experience in my humble opinion.

trust me, I have professional equipment and connection as I'm editing at home and i never seen Kodi kicking it's ass. I'm demanding audience when it comes to visual. My monitor is 5k retina and 1080 is just not the measure to judge the image or compression. It is like saying there is only one shade of grey. Just look at the color range on Imdb trailer as I posted and look at the Kodi, same trailer. I believe it all speaks for itself. ANd sound is not spreading on 7 channels even if you do have such setup monitors ( or speakers), it is still two. Or I might be wrong? There is more than two audio channels on Kodi?

And thank you for your input blue!

My son says you have to enable passthru in Kodi, also run on a pc not a Firestick.

ok thank you, im on mac pro, still cinema is better i hope you agree

I did agree.
Thanks for your post.

your welcome :)

Hi omarrium, I love movies and I used to love cinema (we had very small old school one in my city-that place is one of the core memories of my child and younghood). But these days I don't like cinemas anymore- tickets are expensive (you can buy blue-ray release for that-BUT if everything else was perfect I would pay no problemo), sound is punching your ears like Muhammad Ali, you have to choose wisely where you sit and people can be very annoying crunching chips and talking about yesterdays shopping center experience...I really like that romantic idea of cinemas but there is non left for me these days... :) I believe KODI is very capable player (not the best one but very good) - it can certainly output multichannel and you can watch blue-ray quality also... anyway thanks for your review :)

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

42083

https://i.imgur.com/CuJcc1K.gif
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
Watch online here
►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►►
Click here:
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
►► http://moviezland.com ◄◄
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

42091

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65709.94
ETH 2699.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86