Why I Love Cinema

in #film6 years ago (edited)

Reasons On Why I Love Cinema & Filmmaking.

1404561_10151922354407670_276794755_o.jpg

When I think of films I think of memories and dreams. When I dream it usually seems vivid and immersive, it's feels like it is happening in the moment, so clear , yet so alien. I experience things in my dreams that I have never done in my real life and may never do, like flying above the clouds and then plummeting back to the ground, or getting shot and shooting people, or falling in love with the most angelic woman I have never met and she loves me like no other. It is like another life. But, when I wake up and try to remember every detail it is like trying to remember an event from when I was a young child. Things can get distorted, warped, lost.

This is similar to how I see and experience cinema. When I go into that dark room and all you can see is the giant lit cinema screen and all you can hear are the surround sound speakers, it's as if I am stepping into the mind of the creator. As if the cinema screen is a 2D representation of their dreams and thoughts, and the speaker is their inner voice. I sit there, in the dark, and focus on the visions that are being projected in front of my eyes. AND I LOVE IT!

While watching the film I am in the moment, I am connecting with these characters I have never met and who aren't real. I fall in love with the beautiful actress. I despise the enemy. I vouch for the hero. I am in their world and living another life that I will probably never experience in my real life. This is like my dreams, and like my dreams the films I watch have a certain impact on the way I see and live my life. I grew up without a real father so I found many father figures on the big screen. I learnt how to act around women from the big screen. I even learnt how to talk certain ways from characters on the big screen.

When I walk out of the cinema, out of that world I lived in for two hours, I begin to think back on the experience I just went through. But, like my dreams things begin to get cloudy and muddled but sticking in my mind like a past memory. Fragmented pieces slowly come together and form a memory. Some of the films from my childhood are just as valuable to me as memories with past relatives. If the film left an imprinting memory I would be happy to go visit it again and relive those moments. THIS is the one difference between memories/dreams and cinema; I can revisit them when ever I want. In the future I believe we will be able to capture dreams and memories so we could also revisit them like a film. I will do another blog on that in the future.

I am a filmmaker based in Queensland, Australia and these are just a few of many reasons I love cinema. I walk down the street a different way after I see a certain film. I begin to think differently about my life after a certain film. I find inspiration and passion after watching a certain film. Sometimes my heart hurts after a certain film. All because someone projected their thoughts and ideas onto a screen with light.

So, to wrap this up, my name is Joel Champ and I am the owner/director at New Prime Pictures and I am very happy I found the Steemit platform and can't wait to share my next projects with this awesome community.

Thanks, enjoy your day and see you soon,
Joel Champ

Blacktop Stranger (2017) - https://steemit.com/joel/@newprimepictures/q5kpnk5k

Steemit - steemit.com/@newprimepictures
DTube - d.tube/#!/c/newprimepictures
Facebook - www.facebook.com/NewPrimePictures
Youtube - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgs-3-q9sIGmMArbGvAkYkw?view_as=subscriber
Twitter - twitter.com/NewPrimePicture
Instagram - www.instagram.com/newprimepictures
Email - [email protected]
Website - www.newprimepictures.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44