“My Best Friend’s Birthday“ - Tarantino’s first and unreleased film. (And you can watch here)

in #film8 years ago (edited)

"The good ideas will survive.” – Quentin Tarantino

When you say Tarantino’s first film, most people think “Reservoir Dogs” with the timeless Mr. Blond and the rest of the gang. While that is correct, there is a little know piece of work preceding that classic film. It is called “ My Best Friend’s Birthday “ Tarantino’s truly first and unreleased film.

The film is officially a comedy. The only he has made until now.

Fun facts:

It took Tarantino 3 years to make the film. He filmed in the weekends while working at a video store.

It had a 5000$ budget (not bad for a 16mm film)

The first cut of the film was 70 minutes long. But during the editing process there was a fire at the film lab (if you can believe that) and some of his film got burned (I know)… as a consequence he (and now you) was left with a 36 minutes cut.

To this day it has never been released, nor partially showed in Dvd’s extras. (In fact I’m not so sure he likes the idea of you watching it now)

Hope you have fun, watching this little jewel of cinema. An amateur film made by someone who would become one of the most iconic voices in cinema.

If you like this you will probably like an article I wrote about Tarantino’s early years.

https://steemit.com/film/@maxjoy/a-trantinoesque-retrospective-the-early-years-of-his-life

Enjoy!

Sort:  

today is my first day on steemit, and I just searched Tarantino because I was looking for other film enthusiasts on this platform. I checked out your page and I enjoy your content. I plan on trying to post similar content to yours so I hope you will follow me as well!

Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65