Hush (Film): Review.

in #film6 years ago (edited)

I have some days without recommending anything, but hey, that was not because of the prices on the market, but because I had not had enough time, sometimes I have to decide between watching a film or writing a post. Today I decided on Hush, a classic Slasher released on Netflix.


Image.png

>>Source <<


Year: 2016.
Category: Slasher.
Director: Mike Flanagan
Cast: Kate Siegel, John Gallagher Jr., Michael Trucco, Samantha Sloyan, Emilia Graves.


Plot

A young writer who became deaf in her adolescence, now lives in a house in the forest away from the city, suddenly a masked subject, upon discovering her disability, begins to stalk and play with her with the aim of killing her.


Opinion

A personal anecdote that I have about this film is that when I started watching it, I did not realize that, for some unknown reason, the TV had the volume at the minimum, that is, you could not hear anything, and as I knew that the protagonist of the film was deaf, I thought they had made the film without audio, lol, you can imagine how stupid I felt when I realized what was really happening.

The first minutes of the movie I saw them without hearing anything, and I must say, I really liked it, they transmitted an incredible immersive feeling, unfortunately or not, in a scene in which the killer listens to a noise provoked by the protagonist, and acts consequently, I realize that something is wrong. It made sense that there was no audio when they showed us the scene from the protagonist's perspective, mainly because she is deaf, but it did not make sense to show us the scene without audio if it was shown from the killer's perspective. So I discovered my mistake, and I really laughed a lot about how stupid I was on that occasion.

I do not know if because of my personal experience with the film I judge it differently than the rest of the people, but after I overcame my mistake and continued watching the film with audio, what was new to me, it was not new anymore, so the only thing I was liking about the movie disappeared.

The interesting and ironic thing is that the sound is great, yes, the sound, when I finished watching the movie, I saw the first minutes again, and the film starts with a scene in the kitchen where you can hear everything, and it's definitely great, even though I saw it without sound the first time and I also liked how it is with sound.

Another interesting point of the film is the disparity of strength between the murderer and the victim. Films of this style always go to the female character to show the physical vulnerability with respect to danger, and that by a process in which the character faces fear, he manages to confront the murderer by means of cunning. Well, this film is what it does is to bring that to its highest expression, because the victim is not only a woman, but also is deaf, so she has to be more cunning than usual to compensate for her weakness, something that It really does not happen that way, according to my perception, the protagonist acts in a somewhat absurd way, that I can not qualify as intelligent, even so, it helps the fact that the murderer is not very intelligent either, in fact, he is a bit idiotic.

The performances are decent, the female protagonist is the only one that makes it a little better, especially because of the condition of her character. The rest of the actors do well for a film of this type, nothing worth more than the average in this genre.

I think one of the things that I did not like about the movie was the character of the murderer, he had absolutely no depth, I never understood his motivation, what leads him to kill? nobody knows...

I can only say that it is the classic film in which there is a murderer and a victim, and there is a situation in which one pursues the other while he runs away and hides from him.


Trailer


Score

6/10

Actually the movie leaves me with a sense of indecision, I can not say if I liked it or not, and I do not even know why. I'll wait some time to see her again, for now I recommend her only if you have nothing better to see.


Sort:  

I consider the movie as sort of a TV anthology episode like Black Mirror or Twilight Zone. It was an old (classic) concept made fresh. I couldn't find anything that I'd call bad. It kept my interest to the end and that's about it. I had a good time and would even recommend it to someone. But it's not a must watch.

Oculus (2013) on the other hand was basically the horror movie of the year for me. It's no your traditional horror. The early parts even reminded me of Mulder and Scully arguing about the supernatural. The movie won't make you terrified. It won't even haunt you like Ring. But it was a very good psycho-drama about a family tragedy caused by a mirror distorting the senses of the victims. Just go in blind if you like the primes. At worst it'd be a good break from traditional hauntings and jumpscares.

I see you're a man of culture as well.jpg

I'll write Oculus on my list.

About Hush, I think I should see it again, although it is true that it was entertaining.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 233 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65