Fracture (Film): Review.

in #film6 years ago

Yesterday I talked about the movie The Judge, and because I had to check the movies section on legal topics to find the DVD, I happened to meet Fracture, a movie I had seen years ago and from which I could remember almost nothing, however, it caught my attention again, so I decided to see it today, taking advantage of the fact that it was Sunday and that it is the day of the week that I take to see more than one movie. That's why, to take advantage of the fact that I've seen her recently, I decided to talk about her.


Image.png

>>Source <<


Year: 2007
Category: Legal Drama.
Director: Gregory Hoblit.
Cast: Anthony Hopkins, Ryan Gosling, David Strathairn, Rosamund Pike, Embeth Davidtz, Billy Burke, Cliff Curtis, Fiona Shaw, Bob Gunton.


Plot

The film tells the story of a man who shoots his wife unfaithful, and then surrenders to the authorities without resisting and confessing the crime. A young and successful prosecutor will take charge of the case, a case that is relatively easy given the circumstances, but not everything is what it seems, because the case will be complicated when the accused decides to declare innocent and exercise their own defense.


Opinion

The film tells the story of Ted Crawford, an engineer who shot his wife unfaithful, and Willy Beachum, a young and ambitious prosecutor on the rise. One of them will challenge the other, causing a personal duel. This duel reminds me of the eternal discussion between lawyers and engineers, in which each one explains why it is considered brighter. Crawford turns out to be as complex as the crime he has committed, so what was an easy case begins to crumble along with Willy's career and future.

The film stands out for its impeccable technical quality, as its photography and soundtrack that increases the intrigue in its most important points. The film has excellent moments and others that can be considered bad. It never becomes boring, in fact, it is entertaining despite having no action. There are not too many changes in the argument, although there are several unexpected and questionable turns. The way in which the script, the performances and the direction of the film are assembled remind us at all times that we are watching a film of a completely judicial nature.

The best thing about the film is undoubtedly the duel between the two protagonists, the rest does not generate any interest, because the other characters do not take on a life of their own, but are used as mere narrative elements, figures that are there to represent something from the vision of the protagonist, but they do not have a meaning of their own. The crime does not represent any mystery, from the beginning we are revealed what happened, the only thing that really intrigues is how Mr. Crawford has managed to evade justice and complicate the case to Willy.

Gosling makes a good performance, and although some people have not liked his performance, I must say that I liked it, since it has merit the way in which he projects the image of a successful lawyer, even when his character He really does not have a single chance to demonstrate the good that everyone says he is and that he believes himself to be.

Although the duel between the two protagonists is the most interesting thing in the film, I must say that I would have liked to see a true duel of privileged minds, in which one of them is declared as the unquestionable winner, however, the film It leaves me the impression that the hand of the writers played a very important role at the moment of establishing certain turns, especially at the end of the film, which seem unbelievable and below the level seen.

In a certain way the film has a kind of balance between its virtues and negative aspects, it will not be to everyone's liking, but I am sure that a specific audience may like it.


Trailer


Score

6/10

The photographic work of the film is well done and envelops us in an atmosphere that makes us enjoy the film without problems. To the lovers of the thriller and the legal films I recommend the film, the rest can refrain from seeing it if they wish.


Sort:  

I really liked this movie when I watched it... Just the fact that it is so well written and as the two brilliant minds meet and try to break the other one, I truly enjoyed it. It got me stuck in the chair till the very end... So, I would give it a 8/10 I guess :)

Yes, I also feel a special satisfaction for the film, personally I could also give a slightly higher rating, but I generally try to think about the general public when making the post. I'm sure that to a specific audience this movie can be very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57