Ridley Scott On Directing Blade Runner - "I Don’t Like Discussion."

in #film6 years ago (edited)

ridley-scott-blade-runner-19825.jpg

"I know I’ve got a very good eye – in three seconds I can give you a set-up, having walked in the room without ever seeing it before. So I don’t like discussion. I know exactly what I want, and I want to walk in and say ‘Do it.’ That’s the director’s job. The director’s not meant to stand there and consult with half a dozen people in the room.”

film-blade-runner3.jpeg

It's a director's medium and Blade Runner is a masterpiece that came out of an underfunded cluster cuss, so can you blame him? (Rethorical question.)

ridley-scott.jpg

As far as I'm concerned, Scott is one of the very few, known, living, genius filmmakers.

See the Dangerous Days: Making Blade Runner documentary (2007).

Be well.
http://www.LionSuit.com

Sort:  

If you had to consult with people it ends up being a piece of mediocrity. even if things don't go smooth, the work of an auteur has a sense of profoundness. just take a look at a random MCU movie Vs a bit of a mess and a disappointment like BvS (Extended R rated cut) and I know which one will stand the test of time.

Yes. The beautiful irony of filmmaking: you need a team, but any art piece must be a unified creative force, which is almost always easier to achieve with less people. In painting for a contrast, with just one set of hands and one artist, no one is debating in the studio. Fun stuff. Thanks for the resteem. Good power and energy to you.

You sure said it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82